aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>2014-02-01 18:54:11 -0800
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>2014-02-02 14:09:12 -0800
commit81993e81a994504f4c8b97d3410c9a052cdbcc9d (patch)
tree7471cde617f11dad2f29187daa764e1d119a9731 /ipc
parent5cb480f6b488128140c940abff3c36f524a334a8 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-81993e81a994504f4c8b97d3410c9a052cdbcc9d.tar.gz
compat: Get rid of (get|put)_compat_time(val|spec)
We have two APIs for compatiblity timespec/val, with confusingly similar names. compat_(get|put)_time(val|spec) *do* handle the case where COMPAT_USE_64BIT_TIME is set, whereas (get|put)_compat_time(val|spec) do not. This is an accident waiting to happen. Clean it up by favoring the full-service version; the limited version is replaced with double-underscore versions static to kernel/compat.c. A common pattern is to convert a struct timespec to kernel format in an allocation on the user stack. Unfortunately it is open-coded in several places. Since this allocation isn't actually needed if COMPAT_USE_64BIT_TIME is true (since user format == kernel format) encapsulate that whole pattern into the function compat_convert_timespec(). An equivalent function should be written for struct timeval if it is needed in the future. Finally, get rid of compat_(get|put)_timeval_convert(): each was only used once, and the latter was not even doing what the function said (no conversion actually was being done.) Moving the conversion into compat_sys_settimeofday() itself makes the code much more similar to sys_settimeofday() itself. v3: Remove unused compat_convert_timeval(). v2: Drop bogus "const" in the destination argument for compat_convert_time*(). Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <m.chehab@samsung.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com> Cc: Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Tested-by: H.J. Lu <hjl.tools@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'ipc')
-rw-r--r--ipc/compat.c12
-rw-r--r--ipc/compat_mq.c19
2 files changed, 6 insertions, 25 deletions
diff --git a/ipc/compat.c b/ipc/compat.c
index f486b0096a67..1048522479e5 100644
--- a/ipc/compat.c
+++ b/ipc/compat.c
@@ -752,14 +752,8 @@ long compat_sys_shmctl(int first, int second, void __user *uptr)
long compat_sys_semtimedop(int semid, struct sembuf __user *tsems,
unsigned nsops, const struct compat_timespec __user *timeout)
{
- struct timespec __user *ts64 = NULL;
- if (timeout) {
- struct timespec ts;
- ts64 = compat_alloc_user_space(sizeof(*ts64));
- if (get_compat_timespec(&ts, timeout))
- return -EFAULT;
- if (copy_to_user(ts64, &ts, sizeof(ts)))
- return -EFAULT;
- }
+ struct timespec __user *ts64;
+ if (compat_convert_timespec(&ts64, timeout))
+ return -EFAULT;
return sys_semtimedop(semid, tsems, nsops, ts64);
}
diff --git a/ipc/compat_mq.c b/ipc/compat_mq.c
index 63d7c6de335b..a9cf16378d7a 100644
--- a/ipc/compat_mq.c
+++ b/ipc/compat_mq.c
@@ -64,20 +64,6 @@ asmlinkage long compat_sys_mq_open(const char __user *u_name,
return sys_mq_open(u_name, oflag, mode, p);
}
-static int compat_prepare_timeout(struct timespec __user **p,
- const struct compat_timespec __user *u)
-{
- struct timespec ts;
- if (!u) {
- *p = NULL;
- return 0;
- }
- *p = compat_alloc_user_space(sizeof(ts));
- if (get_compat_timespec(&ts, u) || copy_to_user(*p, &ts, sizeof(ts)))
- return -EFAULT;
- return 0;
-}
-
asmlinkage long compat_sys_mq_timedsend(mqd_t mqdes,
const char __user *u_msg_ptr,
size_t msg_len, unsigned int msg_prio,
@@ -85,7 +71,7 @@ asmlinkage long compat_sys_mq_timedsend(mqd_t mqdes,
{
struct timespec __user *u_ts;
- if (compat_prepare_timeout(&u_ts, u_abs_timeout))
+ if (compat_convert_timespec(&u_ts, u_abs_timeout))
return -EFAULT;
return sys_mq_timedsend(mqdes, u_msg_ptr, msg_len,
@@ -98,7 +84,8 @@ asmlinkage ssize_t compat_sys_mq_timedreceive(mqd_t mqdes,
const struct compat_timespec __user *u_abs_timeout)
{
struct timespec __user *u_ts;
- if (compat_prepare_timeout(&u_ts, u_abs_timeout))
+
+ if (compat_convert_timespec(&u_ts, u_abs_timeout))
return -EFAULT;
return sys_mq_timedreceive(mqdes, u_msg_ptr, msg_len,