aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-03-26 23:47:24 +0100
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-19 13:54:04 +0200
commitd1e43fa5f8bb25f83a86a29f11fcfb57ed4d7566 (patch)
tree9eff00255c1061248b6aef2c8341ea527610150c /init
parent0453b435df0d69dd0d8c42eb9b3015aaf0d8a032 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-d1e43fa5f8bb25f83a86a29f11fcfb57ed4d7566.tar.gz
nohz: Ensure full dynticks CPUs are RCU nocbs
We need full dynticks CPU to also be RCU nocb so that we don't have to keep the tick to handle RCU callbacks. Make sure the range passed to nohz_full= boot parameter is a subset of rcu_nocbs= The CPUs that fail to meet this requirement will be excluded from the nohz_full range. This is checked early in boot time, before any CPU has the opportunity to stop its tick. Suggested-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/main.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index 63534a141b4e..2acb5bbde99b 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -547,6 +547,7 @@ asmlinkage void __init start_kernel(void)
idr_init_cache();
perf_event_init();
rcu_init();
+ tick_nohz_init();
radix_tree_init();
/* init some links before init_ISA_irqs() */
early_irq_init();