aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include/video/of_display_timing.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteffen Trumtrar <s.trumtrar@pengutronix.de>2012-12-17 14:20:17 +0100
committerSteffen Trumtrar <s.trumtrar@pengutronix.de>2013-01-24 09:03:04 +0100
commit8714c0cecfc28f7ce73a520be4831f09743c4fd7 (patch)
treee0115b23586ce857c0a1257a7a26d638bf2aa3b3 /include/video/of_display_timing.h
parentea4f3111ef0daffa1d11fded6f375227febca458 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-8714c0cecfc28f7ce73a520be4831f09743c4fd7.tar.gz
video: add display_timing and videomode
Add display_timing structure and the according helper functions. This allows the description of a display via its supported timing parameters. Also, add helper functions to convert from display timings to a generic videomode structure. The struct display_timing specifies all needed parameters to describe the signal properties of a display in one mode. This includes - ranges for signals that may have min-, max- and typical values - single integers for signals that can be on, off or are ignored - booleans for signals that are either on or off As a display may support multiple modes like this, a struct display_timings is added, that holds all given struct display_timing pointers and declares the native mode of the display. Although a display may state that a signal can be in a range, it is driven with fixed values that indicate a videomode. Therefore graphic drivers don't need all the information of struct display_timing, but would generate a videomode from the given set of supported signal timings and work with that. The video subsystems all define their own structs that describe a mode and work with that (e.g. fb_videomode or drm_display_mode). To slowly replace all those various structures and allow code reuse across those subsystems, add struct videomode as a generic description. This patch only includes the most basic fields in struct videomode. All missing fields that are needed to have a really generic video mode description can be added at a later stage. Signed-off-by: Steffen Trumtrar <s.trumtrar@pengutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> Acked-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> Tested-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@avionic-design.de> Tested-by: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com> Acked-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com> Tested-by: Afzal Mohammed <Afzal@ti.com> Tested-by: Rob Clark <robclark@gmail.com> Tested-by: Leela Krishna Amudala <leelakrishna.a@gmail.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/video/of_display_timing.h')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions