aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>2016-03-09 14:08:35 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-03-09 15:43:42 -0800
commit86613628b3d367743f71b945c203774c522404f4 (patch)
tree6ca89fc7ba540ff5fb94b8ed899f40701b89880b
parentac343e882a8377caef5fa75d9093cb77e9d4bf6d (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-86613628b3d367743f71b945c203774c522404f4.tar.gz
mm/hugetlb: use EOPNOTSUPP in hugetlb sysctl handlers
Replace ENOTSUPP with EOPNOTSUPP. If hugepages are not supported, this value is propagated to userspace. EOPNOTSUPP is part of uapi and is widely supported by libc libraries. It gives nicer message to user, rather than: # cat /proc/sys/vm/nr_hugepages cat: /proc/sys/vm/nr_hugepages: Unknown error 524 And also LTP's proc01 test was failing because this ret code (524) was unexpected: proc01 1 TFAIL : proc01.c:396: read failed: /proc/sys/vm/nr_hugepages: errno=???(524): Unknown error 524 proc01 2 TFAIL : proc01.c:396: read failed: /proc/sys/vm/nr_hugepages_mempolicy: errno=???(524): Unknown error 524 proc01 3 TFAIL : proc01.c:396: read failed: /proc/sys/vm/nr_overcommit_hugepages: errno=???(524): Unknown error 524 Signed-off-by: Jan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com> Acked-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Acked-by: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com> Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/hugetlb.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/hugetlb.c b/mm/hugetlb.c
index 0e27a9db6eb9..aefba5a9cc47 100644
--- a/mm/hugetlb.c
+++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -2751,7 +2751,7 @@ static int hugetlb_sysctl_handler_common(bool obey_mempolicy,
int ret;
if (!hugepages_supported())
- return -ENOTSUPP;
+ return -EOPNOTSUPP;
table->data = &tmp;
table->maxlen = sizeof(unsigned long);
@@ -2792,7 +2792,7 @@ int hugetlb_overcommit_handler(struct ctl_table *table, int write,
int ret;
if (!hugepages_supported())
- return -ENOTSUPP;
+ return -EOPNOTSUPP;
tmp = h->nr_overcommit_huge_pages;