aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorYabin Cui <yabinc@google.com>2018-08-23 15:59:35 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-09-10 14:01:46 +0200
commit02e184476eff848273826c1d6617bb37e5bcc7ad (patch)
tree08cf74e197794bbc4226a42d420c060df87c6b3e
parent09121255c784fd36ad6237a4e239c634b0209de0 (diff)
downloadlinux-stericsson-02e184476eff848273826c1d6617bb37e5bcc7ad.tar.gz
perf/core: Force USER_DS when recording user stack data
Perf can record user stack data in response to a synchronous request, such as a tracepoint firing. If this happens under set_fs(KERNEL_DS), then we end up reading user stack data using __copy_from_user_inatomic() under set_fs(KERNEL_DS). I think this conflicts with the intention of using set_fs(KERNEL_DS). And it is explicitly forbidden by hardware on ARM64 when both CONFIG_ARM64_UAO and CONFIG_ARM64_PAN are used. So fix this by forcing USER_DS when recording user stack data. Signed-off-by: Yabin Cui <yabinc@google.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Fixes: 88b0193d9418 ("perf/callchain: Force USER_DS when invoking perf_callchain_user()") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180823225935.27035-1-yabinc@google.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index abaed4f8bb7f..c80549bf82c6 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -5943,6 +5943,7 @@ perf_output_sample_ustack(struct perf_output_handle *handle, u64 dump_size,
unsigned long sp;
unsigned int rem;
u64 dyn_size;
+ mm_segment_t fs;
/*
* We dump:
@@ -5960,7 +5961,10 @@ perf_output_sample_ustack(struct perf_output_handle *handle, u64 dump_size,
/* Data. */
sp = perf_user_stack_pointer(regs);
+ fs = get_fs();
+ set_fs(USER_DS);
rem = __output_copy_user(handle, (void *) sp, dump_size);
+ set_fs(fs);
dyn_size = dump_size - rem;
perf_output_skip(handle, rem);