aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/events
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-20 15:48:22 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-22 19:59:37 +0200
commit12351ef8f9f2226636b00324d841d9c5069d80bc (patch)
tree683d021432d280ec6dbc9c26d9778fa057f2f90e /kernel/events
parent6ac29178b4fe8e7c0139375008f014ceb466039d (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-12351ef8f9f2226636b00324d841d9c5069d80bc.tar.gz
perf: Kick full dynticks CPU if events rotation is needed
Kick the current CPU's tick by sending it a self IPI when an event is queued on the rotation list and it is the first element inserted. This makes sure that perf_event_task_tick() works on full dynticks CPUs. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/events')
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c7
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index b0cd86501c3..75b58bb75b3 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -18,6 +18,7 @@
#include <linux/poll.h>
#include <linux/slab.h>
#include <linux/hash.h>
+#include <linux/tick.h>
#include <linux/sysfs.h>
#include <linux/dcache.h>
#include <linux/percpu.h>
@@ -655,8 +656,12 @@ static void perf_pmu_rotate_start(struct pmu *pmu)
WARN_ON(!irqs_disabled());
- if (list_empty(&cpuctx->rotation_list))
+ if (list_empty(&cpuctx->rotation_list)) {
+ int was_empty = list_empty(head);
list_add(&cpuctx->rotation_list, head);
+ if (was_empty)
+ tick_nohz_full_kick();
+ }
}
static void get_ctx(struct perf_event_context *ctx)