aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/events/internal.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>2012-08-07 15:20:39 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2012-08-10 12:16:22 -0300
commit5685e0ff45f5df67e79e9b052b6ffd501ff38c11 (patch)
treeead6bd92a49b42ec0ca5bfee467e03e37656a6f1 /kernel/events/internal.h
parent91d7753a45f8525dc75b6be01e427dc1c378dc16 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-5685e0ff45f5df67e79e9b052b6ffd501ff38c11.tar.gz
perf: Add perf_output_skip function to skip bytes in sample
Introducing perf_output_skip function to be able to skip data within the perf ring buffer. When writing data into perf ring buffer we first reserve needed place in ring buffer and then copy the actual data. There's a possibility we won't be able to fill all the reserved size with data, so we need a way to skip the remaining bytes. This is going to be useful when storing the user stack dump, where we might end up with less data than we originally requested. Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Acked-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: "Frank Ch. Eigler" <fche@redhat.com> Cc: Arun Sharma <asharma@fb.com> Cc: Benjamin Redelings <benjamin.redelings@nescent.org> Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Frank Ch. Eigler <fche@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com> Cc: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@gmail.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1344345647-11536-5-git-send-email-jolsa@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/events/internal.h')
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/internal.h4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/internal.h b/kernel/events/internal.h
index 7fd5408493d..ce7bdfc1d04 100644
--- a/kernel/events/internal.h
+++ b/kernel/events/internal.h
@@ -114,6 +114,10 @@ static inline int memcpy_common(void *dst, const void *src, size_t n)
DEFINE_OUTPUT_COPY(__output_copy, memcpy_common)
+#define MEMCPY_SKIP(dst, src, n) (n)
+
+DEFINE_OUTPUT_COPY(__output_skip, MEMCPY_SKIP)
+
#ifndef arch_perf_out_copy_user
#define arch_perf_out_copy_user __copy_from_user_inatomic
#endif