aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/ipc/util.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDavidlohr Bueso <davidlohr.bueso@hp.com>2013-04-30 19:15:19 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-05-01 08:12:57 -0700
commit4d2bff5eb86e8d7b4a20934cccb93bdeebed3558 (patch)
tree3667eec32ddcf8686335f64db553613c319f0625 /ipc/util.h
parent7bb4deff61bdab3338534841cb6d0508314a41d6 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-4d2bff5eb86e8d7b4a20934cccb93bdeebed3558.tar.gz
ipc: introduce obtaining a lockless ipc object
Through ipc_lock() and therefore ipc_lock_check() we currently return the locked ipc object. This is not necessary for all situations and can, therefore, cause unnecessary ipc lock contention. Introduce analogous ipc_obtain_object() and ipc_obtain_object_check() functions that only lookup and return the ipc object. Both these functions must be called within the RCU read critical section. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: propagate the ipc_obtain_object() errno from ipc_lock()] Signed-off-by: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr.bueso@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Chegu Vinod <chegu_vinod@hp.com> Acked-by: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: Emmanuel Benisty <benisty.e@gmail.com> Cc: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com> Cc: Peter Hurley <peter@hurleysoftware.com> Cc: Stanislav Kinsbursky <skinsbursky@parallels.com> Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'ipc/util.h')
-rw-r--r--ipc/util.h2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/ipc/util.h b/ipc/util.h
index ac1480a4efd..bfc8d4ea6e4 100644
--- a/ipc/util.h
+++ b/ipc/util.h
@@ -123,6 +123,7 @@ void ipc_rcu_getref(void *ptr);
void ipc_rcu_putref(void *ptr);
struct kern_ipc_perm *ipc_lock(struct ipc_ids *, int);
+struct kern_ipc_perm *ipc_obtain_object(struct ipc_ids *ids, int id);
void kernel_to_ipc64_perm(struct kern_ipc_perm *in, struct ipc64_perm *out);
void ipc64_perm_to_ipc_perm(struct ipc64_perm *in, struct ipc_perm *out);
@@ -168,6 +169,7 @@ static inline void ipc_unlock(struct kern_ipc_perm *perm)
}
struct kern_ipc_perm *ipc_lock_check(struct ipc_ids *ids, int id);
+struct kern_ipc_perm *ipc_obtain_object_check(struct ipc_ids *ids, int id);
int ipcget(struct ipc_namespace *ns, struct ipc_ids *ids,
struct ipc_ops *ops, struct ipc_params *params);
void free_ipcs(struct ipc_namespace *ns, struct ipc_ids *ids,