aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-07-11 20:26:30 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-09-26 15:44:04 +0200
commit2b1d5024e17be459aa6385763ca3faa8f01c52d9 (patch)
tree45d1ea5872eea69b7f0443086d98ddbcbc221b94 /init
parent9a0c6fef423528ba5b62aa31b29aabf689eb8f70 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-2b1d5024e17be459aa6385763ca3faa8f01c52d9.tar.gz
rcu: Settle config for userspace extended quiescent state
Create a new config option under the RCU menu that put CPUs under RCU extended quiescent state (as in dynticks idle mode) when they run in userspace. This require some contribution from architectures to hook into kernel and userspace boundaries. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com> Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/Kconfig10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index af6c7f8ba01..f6a1830165c 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -441,6 +441,16 @@ config PREEMPT_RCU
This option enables preemptible-RCU code that is common between
the TREE_PREEMPT_RCU and TINY_PREEMPT_RCU implementations.
+config RCU_USER_QS
+ bool "Consider userspace as in RCU extended quiescent state"
+ depends on HAVE_RCU_USER_QS && SMP
+ help
+ This option sets hooks on kernel / userspace boundaries and
+ puts RCU in extended quiescent state when the CPU runs in
+ userspace. It means that when a CPU runs in userspace, it is
+ excluded from the global RCU state machine and thus doesn't
+ to keep the timer tick on for RCU.
+
config RCU_FANOUT
int "Tree-based hierarchical RCU fanout value"
range 2 64 if 64BIT