aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>2012-12-18 14:22:09 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-18 15:02:13 -0800
commita8964b9b84f99c0b1b5d7c09520f89f0700e742e (patch)
tree468c57a6cd3bd03c91152ede7fdbcacc238341d2 /include
parent7de37682bec35bbe0cd69b8112ef257bc5fb1c3e (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-a8964b9b84f99c0b1b5d7c09520f89f0700e742e.tar.gz
memcg: use static branches when code not in use
We can use static branches to patch the code in or out when not used. Because the _ACTIVE bit on kmem_accounted is only set after the increment is done, we guarantee that the root memcg will always be selected for kmem charges until all call sites are patched (see memcg_kmem_enabled). This guarantees that no mischarges are applied. Static branch decrement happens when the last reference count from the kmem accounting in memcg dies. This will only happen when the charges drop down to 0. When that happens, we need to disable the static branch only on those memcgs that enabled it. To achieve this, we would be forced to complicate the code by keeping track of which memcgs were the ones that actually enabled limits, and which ones got it from its parents. It is a lot simpler just to do static_key_slow_inc() on every child that is accounted. Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Acked-by: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@google.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: JoonSoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/memcontrol.h4
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/memcontrol.h b/include/linux/memcontrol.h
index afa2ad40457..87d61e840dd 100644
--- a/include/linux/memcontrol.h
+++ b/include/linux/memcontrol.h
@@ -22,6 +22,7 @@
#include <linux/cgroup.h>
#include <linux/vm_event_item.h>
#include <linux/hardirq.h>
+#include <linux/jump_label.h>
struct mem_cgroup;
struct page_cgroup;
@@ -417,9 +418,10 @@ static inline void sock_release_memcg(struct sock *sk)
#endif /* CONFIG_INET && CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM */
#ifdef CONFIG_MEMCG_KMEM
+extern struct static_key memcg_kmem_enabled_key;
static inline bool memcg_kmem_enabled(void)
{
- return true;
+ return static_key_false(&memcg_kmem_enabled_key);
}
/*