aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>2012-12-18 14:22:38 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-18 15:02:13 -0800
commit55007d849759252ddd573aeb36143b947202d509 (patch)
treed042bc2f717922fb73f9d526592eeb331c2f0f70 /include
parent2633d7a028239a738b793be5ca8fa6ac312f5793 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-55007d849759252ddd573aeb36143b947202d509.tar.gz
memcg: allocate memory for memcg caches whenever a new memcg appears
Every cache that is considered a root cache (basically the "original" caches, tied to the root memcg/no-memcg) will have an array that should be large enough to store a cache pointer per each memcg in the system. Theoreticaly, this is as high as 1 << sizeof(css_id), which is currently in the 64k pointers range. Most of the time, we won't be using that much. What goes in this patch, is a simple scheme to dynamically allocate such an array, in order to minimize memory usage for memcg caches. Because we would also like to avoid allocations all the time, at least for now, the array will only grow. It will tend to be big enough to hold the maximum number of kmem-limited memcgs ever achieved. We'll allocate it to be a minimum of 64 kmem-limited memcgs. When we have more than that, we'll start doubling the size of this array every time the limit is reached. Because we are only considering kmem limited memcgs, a natural point for this to happen is when we write to the limit. At that point, we already have set_limit_mutex held, so that will become our natural synchronization mechanism. Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: JoonSoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@google.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/memcontrol.h2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/memcontrol.h b/include/linux/memcontrol.h
index 0b69a047000..45085e14e02 100644
--- a/include/linux/memcontrol.h
+++ b/include/linux/memcontrol.h
@@ -447,6 +447,8 @@ int memcg_register_cache(struct mem_cgroup *memcg, struct kmem_cache *s);
void memcg_release_cache(struct kmem_cache *cachep);
void memcg_cache_list_add(struct mem_cgroup *memcg, struct kmem_cache *cachep);
+int memcg_update_cache_size(struct kmem_cache *s, int num_groups);
+void memcg_update_array_size(int num_groups);
/**
* memcg_kmem_newpage_charge: verify if a new kmem allocation is allowed.
* @gfp: the gfp allocation flags.