aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorUwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>2009-07-11 22:53:05 +0200
committerJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>2009-11-09 09:40:58 +0100
commit81e627e00a2eabfa573eb4558e31c0c98fcb7e5a (patch)
treead7d98a8b077cab84d24d5d8fea96f8f01934c00 /drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c
parent93f6ced9e442de2ee817c244048fde3e6350be8d (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-81e627e00a2eabfa573eb4558e31c0c98fcb7e5a.tar.gz
move stk17ta8's probe function to .devinit.text
A pointer to stk17ta8_rtc_probe is passed to the core via platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the .init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y) unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an oops as does a device being registered late. An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function from the struct platform_driver. Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> Cc: Anton Vorontsov <avorontsov@ru.mvista.com> Cc: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it> Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Hannes Eder <hannes@hanneseder.net> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net> Acked-by: Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c b/drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c
index 7d1547b0070..d491eb265c3 100644
--- a/drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c
+++ b/drivers/rtc/rtc-stk17ta8.c
@@ -286,7 +286,7 @@ static struct bin_attribute stk17ta8_nvram_attr = {
.write = stk17ta8_nvram_write,
};
-static int __init stk17ta8_rtc_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+static int __devinit stk17ta8_rtc_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
struct rtc_device *rtc;
struct resource *res;