aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>2011-11-09 17:56:37 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2011-11-14 13:01:24 +0100
commitaa2bc1ade59003a379ffc485d6da2d92ea3370a6 (patch)
tree6d3551cbc594f6827682db9ab931e6e22a37fd6a /arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
parent1d5f003f5a964711853514b04ddc872eec0fdc7b (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-aa2bc1ade59003a379ffc485d6da2d92ea3370a6.tar.gz
perf: Don't use -ENOSPC for out of PMU resources
People (Linus) objected to using -ENOSPC to signal not having enough resources on the PMU to satisfy the request. Use -EINVAL. Requested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Deng-Cheng Zhu <dengcheng.zhu@gmail.com> Cc: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-xv8geaz2zpbjhlx0svmpp28n@git.kernel.org [ merged to newer kernel, fixed up MIPS impact ] Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c b/arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
index 24e2347be6b..ff17b17b668 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/perf_event.c
@@ -347,15 +347,15 @@ validate_group(struct perf_event *event)
memset(&fake_pmu, 0, sizeof(fake_pmu));
if (!validate_event(&fake_pmu, leader))
- return -ENOSPC;
+ return -EINVAL;
list_for_each_entry(sibling, &leader->sibling_list, group_entry) {
if (!validate_event(&fake_pmu, sibling))
- return -ENOSPC;
+ return -EINVAL;
}
if (!validate_event(&fake_pmu, event))
- return -ENOSPC;
+ return -EINVAL;
return 0;
}