aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorCyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>2012-12-17 16:05:18 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-17 17:15:28 -0800
commite71ec593201e1b367b5f22955e3db49e3c562e67 (patch)
treeed5b17a12905e5cf16141f49d263e9862b01458c /Documentation
parente6dbcafb744ab94a94142a6e721e16330397fad8 (diff)
downloadvexpress-lsk-e71ec593201e1b367b5f22955e3db49e3c562e67.tar.gz
docs: update documentation about /proc/<pid>/fdinfo/<fd> fanotify output
Signed-off-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Andrey Vagin <avagin@openvz.org> Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: James Bottomley <jbottomley@parallels.com> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Cc: Matthew Helsley <matt.helsley@gmail.com> Cc: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@onelan.co.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/proc.txt28
1 files changed, 17 insertions, 11 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/proc.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/proc.txt
index bcc27c97efb..fd8d0d594fc 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/proc.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/proc.txt
@@ -1698,21 +1698,27 @@ pair provide additional information particular to the objects they represent.
If the kernel is built without exportfs support the file handle won't be
printed out.
- For fanotify files the format is
-
- pos: 0
- flags: 02
- fanotify ino:2 sdev:800013 mask:1 ignored_mask:40000000 fhandle-bytes:8 fhandle-type:1 f_handle:0200000000000000
+ If there is no inotify mark attached yet the 'inotify' line will be omitted.
- or
+ For fanotify files the format is
pos: 0
flags: 02
- fanotify mnt_id:13 mask:1 ignored_mask:40000000
-
- where 'ino', 'sdev' are target inode and device, 'mnt_id' is the mount
- point identifier, 'mask' is the events mask used and 'ignored_mask' is
- the mask of events which are to be ignored. All in hex format.
+ fanotify flags:10 event-flags:0
+ fanotify mnt_id:12 mflags:40 mask:38 ignored_mask:40000003
+ fanotify ino:4f969 sdev:800013 mflags:0 mask:3b ignored_mask:40000000 fhandle-bytes:8 fhandle-type:1 f_handle:69f90400c275b5b4
+
+ where fanotify 'flags' and 'event-flags' are values used in fanotify_init
+ call, 'mnt_id' is the mount point identifier, 'mflags' is the value of
+ flags associated with mark which are tracked separately from events
+ mask. 'ino', 'sdev' are target inode and device, 'mask' is the events
+ mask and 'ignored_mask' is the mask of events which are to be ignored.
+ All in hex format. Incorporation of 'mflags', 'mask' and 'ignored_mask'
+ does provide information about flags and mask used in fanotify_mark
+ call [see fsnotify manpage for details].
+
+ While the first three lines are mandatory and always printed, the rest is
+ optional and may be omitted if no marks created yet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------