aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/mips/Kconfig.debug
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2014-11-24MIPS: Kconfig option to better exercise/debug hybrid FPRsPaul Burton
The hybrid FPR scheme exists to allow for compatibility between existing FP32 code and newly compiled FP64A code. Such code should hopefully be rare in the real world, and for the moment is difficult to come across. All code except that built for the FP64 ABI can correctly execute using the hybrid FPR scheme, so debugging the hybrid FPR implementation can be eased by forcing all such code to use it. This is undesirable in general due to the trap & emulate overhead of the hybrid FPR implementation, but is a very useful option to have for debugging. Signed-off-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@imgtec.com> Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Patchwork: https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/7680/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2014-05-24MIPS: MT: Remove SMTC supportRalf Baechle
Nobody is maintaining SMTC anymore and there also seems to be no userbase. Which is a pity - the SMTC technology primarily developed by Kevin D. Kissell <kevink@paralogos.com> is an ingenious demonstration for the MT ASE's power and elegance. Based on Markos Chandras <Markos.Chandras@imgtec.com> patch https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/6719/ which while very similar did no longer apply cleanly when I tried to merge it plus some additional post-SMTC cleanup - SMTC was a feature as tricky to remove as it was to merge once upon a time. Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2014-03-31MIPS: Fix build error due to multiple prom_putchar() definitions.Ralf Baechle
This can happen if both the generic 8250 and another early console driver are enable. Fixed by using an auxilliary kconfig symbol to restrict that choice. Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2013-10-29MIPS: Add 8250/16550 serial early printk driverYoichi Yuasa
Signed-off-by: Yoichi Yuasa <yuasa@linux-mips.org> Cc: linux-mips <linux-mips@linux-mips.org> Patchwork: https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/947/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2013-07-04consolidate per-arch stack overflow debugging optionsDave Hansen
Original posting: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20121214184202.F54094D9@kernel.stglabs.ibm.com Several architectures have similar stack debugging config options. They all pretty much do the same thing, some with slightly differing help text. This patch changes the architectures to instead enable a Kconfig boolean, and then use that boolean in the generic Kconfig.debug to present the actual menu option. This removes a bunch of duplication and adds consistency across arches. Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Reviewed-by: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> [for tile] Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-04-16Fix typo in various Kconfig fileMasanari Iida
Correct spelling typo in various Kconfig file. Signed-off-by: Masanari Iida <standby24x7@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2011-05-25lib: consolidate DEBUG_STACK_USAGE optionStephen Boyd
Most arches define CONFIG_DEBUG_STACK_USAGE exactly the same way. Move it to lib/Kconfig.debug so each arch doesn't have to define it. This obviously makes the option generic, but that's fine because the config is already used in generic code. It's not obvious to me that sysrq-P actually does anything caution by keeping the most inclusive wording. Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-01-20kconfig: rename CONFIG_EMBEDDED to CONFIG_EXPERTDavid Rientjes
The meaning of CONFIG_EMBEDDED has long since been obsoleted; the option is used to configure any non-standard kernel with a much larger scope than only small devices. This patch renames the option to CONFIG_EXPERT in init/Kconfig and fixes references to the option throughout the kernel. A new CONFIG_EMBEDDED option is added that automatically selects CONFIG_EXPERT when enabled and can be used in the future to isolate options that should only be considered for embedded systems (RISC architectures, SLOB, etc). Calling the option "EXPERT" more accurately represents its intention: only expert users who understand the impact of the configuration changes they are making should enable it. Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: David Woodhouse <david.woodhouse@intel.com> Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@suse.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-10-29MIPS: IRQ: Add stackoverflow detectionFrom: jiang.adam@gmail.com
Add stackoverflow detection to mips arch Signed-off-by: Adam Jiang <jiang.adam@gmail.com> Cc: dmitri.vorobiev@movial.com Cc: wuzhangjin@gmail.com Cc: ddaney@caviumnetworks.com Cc: peterz@infradead.org Cc: fweisbec@gmail.com Cc: tj@kernel.org Cc: tglx@linutronix.de Cc: mingo@elte.hu Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Patchwork: https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/1559/ Patchwork: https://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/1651/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2010-02-27MIPS: Crazy spinlock speed test.David Daney
This is just a test program for raw_spinlocks. The main reason I wrote it is to validate my spinlock changes that I sent in a previous patch. To use it enable CONFIG_DEBUG_FS and CONFIG_SPINLOCK_TEST then at run time do: # mount -t debugfs none /sys/kernel/debug/ # cat /sys/kernel/debug/mips/spin_single # cat /sys/kernel/debug/mips/spin_multi On my 600MHz octeon cn5860 (16 CPUs) I get spin_single spin_multi base 106885 247941 spinlock_patch 75194 219465 This shows that for uncontended locks the spinlock patch gives 41% improvement and for contended locks 12% improvement (1/time). Signed-off-by: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com> To: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Patchwork: http://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/969/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2010-02-27MIPS: Make the debugging of compressed kernel configurableWu Zhangjin
This patch adds a new DEBUG_ZBOOT option to allow the users to enable it to debug the compressed kernel support for a new board and this optoin should be disabled to reduce the kernel image size and speed up the kernel booting procedure when the compressed kernel support is stable. Signed-off-by: Wu Zhangjin <wuzhangjin@gmail.com> To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Manuel Lauss <manuel.lauss@googlemail.com> Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Patchwork: http://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/918/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2009-12-17MIPS: Fix and enhance built-in kernel command lineDmitri Vorobiev
Currently, MIPS kernels silently overwrite kernel command-line parameters hardcoded in CONFIG_CMDLINE by the ones received from firmware. Therefore, using firmware remains the only reliable method to transfer the command-line parameters, which is not always desirable or convenient, and the CONFIG_CMDLINE option is thereby effectively rendered useless. This patch fixes the problem described above and introduces a more flexible scheme of handling the kernel command line, in a manner identical to what is currently used for x86. The default behavior, i.e. when CONFIG_CMDLINE_BOOL is not defined, retains the existing semantics, and firmware command-line arguments override the hardcoded ones. [Ralf: I fixed up all the defconfig files so the stay unaffected by this change.] Signed-off-by: Dmitri Vorobiev <dmitri.vorobiev@movial.com> Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Patchwork: http://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/689/ Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2009-12-17MIPS: Move EARLY_PRINTK to Kconfig.debugRalf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2008-12-12MIPS: Kconfig: Fix the arch-specific header pathDmitri Vorobiev
The header path in the help text for the RUNTIME_DEBUG config option is obsolete and needs to be updated to match the new location of architecture-specific header files. While at it, fix the spelling mistake. Signed-off-by: Dmitri Vorobiev <dmitri.vorobiev@movial.fi> Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2008-07-30[MIPS] kgdb: Remove existing implementationJason Wessel
This patch explicitly removes the kgdb implementation, for mips which is intended to be followed by a patch that adds a kgdb implementation for MIPS that makes use of the kgdb core in the kernel. Signed-off-by: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com> Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2008-04-28[MIPS] Allow setting of the cache attribute at run time.Chris Dearman
Slightly tacky, but there is a precedent in the sparc archirecture code. Signed-off-by: Chris Dearman <chris@mips.com> Signed-off-by: Atsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp> Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2007-10-22[MIPS] Kbuild: Use the new cc-cross-prefix feature.Ralf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2007-07-06[MIPS] SMTC: Fix cut'n'paste bug in Kconfig.debugRalf Baechle
This effectivly turned the SMTC_IDLE_HOOK_DEBUG debug option into a no-op. Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2007-02-26[MIPS] Make SMTC_IDLE_HOOK_DEBUG a proper option in Kconfig.debug.Ralf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2007-02-20[MIPS] Allow selection of KGDB only on platforms where it's supported.Ralf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2007-02-06[MIPS] Fix some whitespace damageJan Altenberg
Signed-off-by: Jan Altenberg <jan@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2006-07-13[MIPS] TRACE_IRQFLAGS_SUPPORT support.Ralf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2006-04-27[MIPS] Kconfig: Clarify description of CROSSCOMPILE.Ralf Baechle
Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!