aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/scripts
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorStephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>2012-11-27 16:29:10 -0700
committerRob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>2012-11-30 10:52:19 -0600
commit90b335fbbc316b58a0daee8ea792b5aa8903f2ae (patch)
tree787de651d8d7ca83614a38e2bfe4c5f27d48883c /scripts
parent4a92a385f867b26297b736e9b9cc42bd6dbf0f2b (diff)
downloadlinux-90b335fbbc316b58a0daee8ea792b5aa8903f2ae.tar.gz
kbuild: centralize .dts->.dtb rule
All architectures that use cmd_dtc do so in almost the same way. Create a central build rule to avoid duplication. The one difference is that most current uses of dtc build $(obj)/%.dtb from $(src)/dts/%.dts rather than building the .dtb in the same directory as the .dts file. This difference will be eliminated arch-by-arch in future patches. MIPS is the exception here; it already uses the exact same rule as the new common rule, so the duplicate is removed in this patch to avoid any conflict. arch/mips changes courtesy of Ralf Baechle. Update Documentation/kbuild to remove the explicit call to cmd_dtc from the example, now that the rule exists in a centralized location. Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: linux@lists.openrisc.net Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com> Cc: linux-c6x-dev@linux-c6x.org Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Signed-off-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'scripts')
-rw-r--r--scripts/Makefile.lib3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/scripts/Makefile.lib b/scripts/Makefile.lib
index 0be6f110cce..bdf42fdf64c 100644
--- a/scripts/Makefile.lib
+++ b/scripts/Makefile.lib
@@ -266,6 +266,9 @@ $(obj)/%.dtb.S: $(obj)/%.dtb
quiet_cmd_dtc = DTC $@
cmd_dtc = $(objtree)/scripts/dtc/dtc -O dtb -o $@ -b 0 $(DTC_FLAGS) -d $(depfile) $<
+$(obj)/%.dtb: $(src)/%.dts FORCE
+ $(call if_changed_dep,dtc)
+
# Bzip2
# ---------------------------------------------------------------------------