aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/vmstat.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>2012-07-31 16:44:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-07-31 18:42:46 -0700
commit68243e76ee343d63c6cf76978588a885951e2818 (patch)
treee6ec975265272c81e03312e1ebc1c27fd6fdfa19 /mm/vmstat.c
parent5515061d22f0f9976ae7815864bfd22042d36848 (diff)
downloadlinux-68243e76ee343d63c6cf76978588a885951e2818.tar.gz
mm: account for the number of times direct reclaimers get throttled
Under significant pressure when writing back to network-backed storage, direct reclaimers may get throttled. This is expected to be a short-lived event and the processes get woken up again but processes do get stalled. This patch counts how many times such stalling occurs. It's up to the administrator whether to reduce these stalls by increasing min_free_kbytes. Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Mike Christie <michaelc@cs.wisc.edu> Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/vmstat.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmstat.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmstat.c b/mm/vmstat.c
index 1bbbbd9776a..df7a6748231 100644
--- a/mm/vmstat.c
+++ b/mm/vmstat.c
@@ -745,6 +745,7 @@ const char * const vmstat_text[] = {
TEXTS_FOR_ZONES("pgsteal_direct")
TEXTS_FOR_ZONES("pgscan_kswapd")
TEXTS_FOR_ZONES("pgscan_direct")
+ "pgscan_direct_throttle",
#ifdef CONFIG_NUMA
"zone_reclaim_failed",