aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/page_alloc.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiang Liu <liuj97@gmail.com>2013-04-29 15:06:21 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-04-29 15:54:29 -0700
commit69afade72a3e13e96a065f757891d384d466123f (patch)
treee294349336908e3ffac054f8fa9827226c9ed5b1 /mm/page_alloc.c
parent2d42a40d592fadbd01cb639ac21a761fa31423f8 (diff)
downloadlinux-69afade72a3e13e96a065f757891d384d466123f.tar.gz
mm: introduce common help functions to deal with reserved/managed pages
The original goal of this patchset is to fix the bug reported by https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=53501 Now it has also been expanded to reduce common code used by memory initializion. This is the first part, which applies to v3.9-rc1. It introduces following common helper functions to simplify free_initmem() and free_initrd_mem() on different architectures: adjust_managed_page_count(): will be used to adjust totalram_pages, totalhigh_pages, zone->managed_pages when reserving/unresering a page. __free_reserved_page(): free a reserved page into the buddy system without adjusting page statistics info free_reserved_page(): free a reserved page into the buddy system and adjust page statistics info mark_page_reserved(): mark a page as reserved and adjust page statistics info free_reserved_area(): free a continous ranges of pages by calling free_reserved_page() free_initmem_default(): default method to free __init pages. We have only tested these patchset on x86 platforms, and have done basic compliation tests using cross-compilers from ftp.kernel.org. That means some code may not pass compilation on some architectures. So any help to test this patchset are welcomed! There are several other parts still under development: Part2: introduce free_highmem_page() to simplify freeing highmem pages Part3: refine code to manage totalram_pages, totalhigh_pages and zone->managed_pages Part4: introduce helper functions to simplify mem_init() and remove the global variable num_physpages. This patch: Code to deal with reserved/managed pages are duplicated by many architectures, so introduce common help functions to reduce duplicated code. These common help functions will also be used to concentrate code to modify totalram_pages and zone->managed_pages, which makes the code much more clear. Signed-off-by: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Anatolij Gustschin <agust@denx.de> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Cc: Jiang Liu <liuj97@gmail.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Zhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/page_alloc.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c20
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index da7a2fe7332..5c660f5ba3d 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -5121,6 +5121,26 @@ early_param("movablecore", cmdline_parse_movablecore);
#endif /* CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP */
+unsigned long free_reserved_area(unsigned long start, unsigned long end,
+ int poison, char *s)
+{
+ unsigned long pages, pos;
+
+ pos = start = PAGE_ALIGN(start);
+ end &= PAGE_MASK;
+ for (pages = 0; pos < end; pos += PAGE_SIZE, pages++) {
+ if (poison)
+ memset((void *)pos, poison, PAGE_SIZE);
+ free_reserved_page(virt_to_page(pos));
+ }
+
+ if (pages && s)
+ pr_info("Freeing %s memory: %ldK (%lx - %lx)\n",
+ s, pages << (PAGE_SHIFT - 10), start, end);
+
+ return pages;
+}
+
/**
* set_dma_reserve - set the specified number of pages reserved in the first zone
* @new_dma_reserve: The number of pages to mark reserved