aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/mempolicy.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>2012-10-25 14:16:28 +0200
committerMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>2012-12-11 14:42:39 +0000
commit479e2802d09f1e18a97262c4c6f8f17ae5884bd8 (patch)
tree7b18bff361b049d04619b196367a95463a2f1417 /mm/mempolicy.c
parentd10e63f29488b0f312a443f9507ea9b6fd3c9090 (diff)
downloadlinux-479e2802d09f1e18a97262c4c6f8f17ae5884bd8.tar.gz
mm: mempolicy: Make MPOL_LOCAL a real policy
Make MPOL_LOCAL a real and exposed policy such that applications that relied on the previous default behaviour can explicitly request it. Requested-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/mempolicy.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/mempolicy.c9
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/mempolicy.c b/mm/mempolicy.c
index 66e90ecc235..54bd3e5ed77 100644
--- a/mm/mempolicy.c
+++ b/mm/mempolicy.c
@@ -269,6 +269,10 @@ static struct mempolicy *mpol_new(unsigned short mode, unsigned short flags,
(flags & MPOL_F_RELATIVE_NODES)))
return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
}
+ } else if (mode == MPOL_LOCAL) {
+ if (!nodes_empty(*nodes))
+ return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
+ mode = MPOL_PREFERRED;
} else if (nodes_empty(*nodes))
return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
policy = kmem_cache_alloc(policy_cache, GFP_KERNEL);
@@ -2399,7 +2403,6 @@ void numa_default_policy(void)
* "local" is pseudo-policy: MPOL_PREFERRED with MPOL_F_LOCAL flag
* Used only for mpol_parse_str() and mpol_to_str()
*/
-#define MPOL_LOCAL MPOL_MAX
static const char * const policy_modes[] =
{
[MPOL_DEFAULT] = "default",
@@ -2452,12 +2455,12 @@ int mpol_parse_str(char *str, struct mempolicy **mpol, int no_context)
if (flags)
*flags++ = '\0'; /* terminate mode string */
- for (mode = 0; mode <= MPOL_LOCAL; mode++) {
+ for (mode = 0; mode < MPOL_MAX; mode++) {
if (!strcmp(str, policy_modes[mode])) {
break;
}
}
- if (mode > MPOL_LOCAL)
+ if (mode >= MPOL_MAX)
goto out;
switch (mode) {