aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/memory.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>2013-02-22 16:34:32 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-02-23 17:50:17 -0800
commit75980e97daccfc6babbac7e180ff118537955f5d (patch)
treeb5721bae11eab21a8ee7c2ba4c7f153a59766dd6 /mm/memory.c
parentbbeae5b05ef6e40bf54db05ceb8635824153b9e2 (diff)
downloadlinux-75980e97daccfc6babbac7e180ff118537955f5d.tar.gz
mm: fold page->_last_nid into page->flags where possible
page->_last_nid fits into page->flags on 64-bit. The unlikely 32-bit NUMA configuration with NUMA Balancing will still need an extra page field. As Peter notes "Completely dropping 32bit support for CONFIG_NUMA_BALANCING would simplify things, but it would also remove the warning if we grow enough 64bit only page-flags to push the last-cpu out." [mgorman@suse.de: minor modifications] Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Simon Jeons <simon.jeons@gmail.com> Cc: Wanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/memory.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory.c4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index 7837ceacf09..054250ee4a6 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -69,6 +69,10 @@
#include "internal.h"
+#ifdef LAST_NID_NOT_IN_PAGE_FLAGS
+#warning Unfortunate NUMA and NUMA Balancing config, growing page-frame for last_nid.
+#endif
+
#ifndef CONFIG_NEED_MULTIPLE_NODES
/* use the per-pgdat data instead for discontigmem - mbligh */
unsigned long max_mapnr;