aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/memory.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>2012-10-08 16:28:29 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:16 +0900
commit5180da410db6369d1f95c9014da1c9bc33fb043e (patch)
tree1d92975710b33a90f77f39d0ad33669329dea949 /mm/memory.c
parentb1a86e15dc0304366f50ba1720834bc419c801b1 (diff)
downloadlinux-5180da410db6369d1f95c9014da1c9bc33fb043e.tar.gz
x86, pat: separate the pfn attribute tracking for remap_pfn_range and vm_insert_pfn
With PAT enabled, vm_insert_pfn() looks up the existing pfn memory attribute and uses it. Expectation is that the driver reserves the memory attributes for the pfn before calling vm_insert_pfn(). remap_pfn_range() (when called for the whole vma) will setup a new attribute (based on the prot argument) for the specified pfn range. This addresses the legacy usage which typically calls remap_pfn_range() with a desired memory attribute. For ranges smaller than the vma size (which is typically not the case), remap_pfn_range() will use the existing memory attribute for the pfn range. Expose two different API's for these different behaviors. track_pfn_insert() for tracking the pfn attribute set by vm_insert_pfn() and track_pfn_remap() for the remap_pfn_range(). This cleanup also prepares the ground for the track/untrack pfn vma routines to take over the ownership of setting PAT specific vm_flag in the 'vma'. [khlebnikov@openvz.org: Clear checks in track_pfn_remap()] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: tweak a few comments] Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/memory.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory.c13
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory.c b/mm/memory.c
index 57361708d1a..6bef278ad30 100644
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -1060,7 +1060,7 @@ int copy_page_range(struct mm_struct *dst_mm, struct mm_struct *src_mm,
* We do not free on error cases below as remove_vma
* gets called on error from higher level routine
*/
- ret = track_pfn_vma_copy(vma);
+ ret = track_pfn_copy(vma);
if (ret)
return ret;
}
@@ -1328,7 +1328,7 @@ static void unmap_single_vma(struct mmu_gather *tlb,
uprobe_munmap(vma, start, end);
if (unlikely(is_pfn_mapping(vma)))
- untrack_pfn_vma(vma, 0, 0);
+ untrack_pfn(vma, 0, 0);
if (start != end) {
if (unlikely(is_vm_hugetlb_page(vma))) {
@@ -2162,14 +2162,11 @@ int vm_insert_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
if (addr < vma->vm_start || addr >= vma->vm_end)
return -EFAULT;
- if (track_pfn_vma_new(vma, &pgprot, pfn, PAGE_SIZE))
+ if (track_pfn_insert(vma, &pgprot, pfn))
return -EINVAL;
ret = insert_pfn(vma, addr, pfn, pgprot);
- if (ret)
- untrack_pfn_vma(vma, pfn, PAGE_SIZE);
-
return ret;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(vm_insert_pfn);
@@ -2311,7 +2308,7 @@ int remap_pfn_range(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
vma->vm_flags |= VM_IO | VM_RESERVED | VM_PFNMAP;
- err = track_pfn_vma_new(vma, &prot, pfn, PAGE_ALIGN(size));
+ err = track_pfn_remap(vma, &prot, pfn, PAGE_ALIGN(size));
if (err) {
/*
* To indicate that track_pfn related cleanup is not
@@ -2335,7 +2332,7 @@ int remap_pfn_range(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
} while (pgd++, addr = next, addr != end);
if (err)
- untrack_pfn_vma(vma, pfn, PAGE_ALIGN(size));
+ untrack_pfn(vma, pfn, PAGE_ALIGN(size));
return err;
}