aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/memory-failure.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>2011-05-24 17:12:20 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2011-05-25 08:39:23 -0700
commitbd486285f24ac2fd1ff64688fb0729712c5712c4 (patch)
treed0fde80eb5c05893ba3b624b8219436b3efb274a /mm/memory-failure.c
parent700c2a46e88265326764197d5b8842490bae5569 (diff)
downloadlinux-bd486285f24ac2fd1ff64688fb0729712c5712c4.tar.gz
mem-hwpoison: fix page refcount around isolate_lru_page()
Drop first page reference only after calling isolate_lru_page() to keep page stable reference while isolating. Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/memory-failure.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/memory-failure.c11
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/mm/memory-failure.c b/mm/memory-failure.c
index 12178ec32ab..369b80e8141 100644
--- a/mm/memory-failure.c
+++ b/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1440,16 +1440,12 @@ int soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
*/
ret = invalidate_inode_page(page);
unlock_page(page);
-
/*
- * Drop count because page migration doesn't like raised
- * counts. The page could get re-allocated, but if it becomes
- * LRU the isolation will just fail.
* RED-PEN would be better to keep it isolated here, but we
* would need to fix isolation locking first.
*/
- put_page(page);
if (ret == 1) {
+ put_page(page);
ret = 0;
pr_info("soft_offline: %#lx: invalidated\n", pfn);
goto done;
@@ -1461,6 +1457,11 @@ int soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
* handles a large number of cases for us.
*/
ret = isolate_lru_page(page);
+ /*
+ * Drop page reference which is came from get_any_page()
+ * successful isolate_lru_page() already took another one.
+ */
+ put_page(page);
if (!ret) {
LIST_HEAD(pagelist);