aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/fremap.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKonstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org>2012-10-08 16:28:46 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-09 16:22:17 +0900
commit0b173bc4daa8f8ec03a85abf5e47b23502ff80af (patch)
tree173d0523555e02a077e0af4563bd4cadea46cb23 /mm/fremap.c
parent4b6e1e37026ec7dae9b23d78ffcebdd5ddb1bfa1 (diff)
downloadlinux-0b173bc4daa8f8ec03a85abf5e47b23502ff80af.tar.gz
mm: kill vma flag VM_CAN_NONLINEAR
Move actual pte filling for non-linear file mappings into the new special vma operation: ->remap_pages(). Filesystems must implement this method to get non-linear mapping support, if it uses filemap_fault() then generic_file_remap_pages() can be used. Now device drivers can implement this method and obtain nonlinear vma support. Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@openvz.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> #arch/tile Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com> Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Cc: Kentaro Takeda <takedakn@nttdata.co.jp> Cc: Matt Helsley <matthltc@us.ibm.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com> Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/fremap.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/fremap.c14
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/mm/fremap.c b/mm/fremap.c
index 048659c0c03..3d731a49878 100644
--- a/mm/fremap.c
+++ b/mm/fremap.c
@@ -5,6 +5,7 @@
*
* started by Ingo Molnar, Copyright (C) 2002, 2003
*/
+#include <linux/export.h>
#include <linux/backing-dev.h>
#include <linux/mm.h>
#include <linux/swap.h>
@@ -80,9 +81,10 @@ out:
return err;
}
-static int populate_range(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
- unsigned long addr, unsigned long size, pgoff_t pgoff)
+int generic_file_remap_pages(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
+ unsigned long size, pgoff_t pgoff)
{
+ struct mm_struct *mm = vma->vm_mm;
int err;
do {
@@ -95,9 +97,9 @@ static int populate_range(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
pgoff++;
} while (size);
- return 0;
-
+ return 0;
}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(generic_file_remap_pages);
/**
* sys_remap_file_pages - remap arbitrary pages of an existing VM_SHARED vma
@@ -167,7 +169,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(remap_file_pages, unsigned long, start, unsigned long, size,
if (vma->vm_private_data && !(vma->vm_flags & VM_NONLINEAR))
goto out;
- if (!(vma->vm_flags & VM_CAN_NONLINEAR))
+ if (!vma->vm_ops->remap_pages)
goto out;
if (start < vma->vm_start || start + size > vma->vm_end)
@@ -228,7 +230,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(remap_file_pages, unsigned long, start, unsigned long, size,
}
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_start(mm, start, start + size);
- err = populate_range(mm, vma, start, size, pgoff);
+ err = vma->vm_ops->remap_pages(vma, start, size, pgoff);
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_end(mm, start, start + size);
if (!err && !(flags & MAP_NONBLOCK)) {
if (vma->vm_flags & VM_LOCKED) {