aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/fadvise.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>2010-03-05 13:42:03 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-03-06 11:26:25 -0800
commit0141450f66c3c12a3aaa869748caa64241885cdf (patch)
treecab5f621dafd1f133d915e5c60aea160438a2e11 /mm/fadvise.c
parent42e49608683ab25fbbbf9c40edb944601e543882 (diff)
downloadlinux-0141450f66c3c12a3aaa869748caa64241885cdf.tar.gz
readahead: introduce FMODE_RANDOM for POSIX_FADV_RANDOM
This fixes inefficient page-by-page reads on POSIX_FADV_RANDOM. POSIX_FADV_RANDOM used to set ra_pages=0, which leads to poor performance: a 16K read will be carried out in 4 _sync_ 1-page reads. In other places, ra_pages==0 means - it's ramfs/tmpfs/hugetlbfs/sysfs/configfs - some IO error happened where multi-page read IO won't help or should be avoided. POSIX_FADV_RANDOM actually want a different semantics: to disable the *heuristic* readahead algorithm, and to use a dumb one which faithfully submit read IO for whatever application requests. So introduce a flag FMODE_RANDOM for POSIX_FADV_RANDOM. Note that the random hint is not likely to help random reads performance noticeably. And it may be too permissive on huge request size (its IO size is not limited by read_ahead_kb). In Quentin's report (http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/12/24/145), the overall (NFS read) performance of the application increased by 313%! Tested-by: Quentin Barnes <qbarnes+nfs@yahoo-inc.com> Signed-off-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Steven Whitehouse <swhiteho@redhat.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Trond Myklebust <Trond.Myklebust@netapp.com> Cc: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com> Cc: <stable@kernel.org> [2.6.33.x] Cc: <qbarnes+nfs@yahoo-inc.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/fadvise.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/fadvise.c10
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/fadvise.c b/mm/fadvise.c
index e43359214f6..8d723c9e8b7 100644
--- a/mm/fadvise.c
+++ b/mm/fadvise.c
@@ -77,12 +77,20 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE(fadvise64_64)(int fd, loff_t offset, loff_t len, int advice)
switch (advice) {
case POSIX_FADV_NORMAL:
file->f_ra.ra_pages = bdi->ra_pages;
+ spin_lock(&file->f_lock);
+ file->f_mode &= ~FMODE_RANDOM;
+ spin_unlock(&file->f_lock);
break;
case POSIX_FADV_RANDOM:
- file->f_ra.ra_pages = 0;
+ spin_lock(&file->f_lock);
+ file->f_mode |= FMODE_RANDOM;
+ spin_unlock(&file->f_lock);
break;
case POSIX_FADV_SEQUENTIAL:
file->f_ra.ra_pages = bdi->ra_pages * 2;
+ spin_lock(&file->f_lock);
+ file->f_mode &= ~FMODE_RANDOM;
+ spin_unlock(&file->f_lock);
break;
case POSIX_FADV_WILLNEED:
if (!mapping->a_ops->readpage) {