aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/compaction.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>2012-12-11 16:02:47 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-11 17:22:27 -0800
commit5733c7d11dff44e98d2ca16617886a78086b354f (patch)
tree2d7b982297b3be46b765123fad9d7d446b4cbdb3 /mm/compaction.c
parente22504296d4f64fbbbd741602ab47ee874649c18 (diff)
downloadlinux-5733c7d11dff44e98d2ca16617886a78086b354f.tar.gz
mm: introduce putback_movable_pages()
The PATCH "mm: introduce compaction and migration for virtio ballooned pages" hacks around putback_lru_pages() in order to allow ballooned pages to be re-inserted on balloon page list as if a ballooned page was like a LRU page. As ballooned pages are not legitimate LRU pages, this patch introduces putback_movable_pages() to properly cope with cases where the isolated pageset contains ballooned pages and LRU pages, thus fixing the mentioned inelegant hack around putback_lru_pages(). Signed-off-by: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/compaction.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/compaction.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/mm/compaction.c b/mm/compaction.c
index 470474c03b6..d24dd2d7bad 100644
--- a/mm/compaction.c
+++ b/mm/compaction.c
@@ -1003,7 +1003,7 @@ static int compact_zone(struct zone *zone, struct compact_control *cc)
switch (isolate_migratepages(zone, cc)) {
case ISOLATE_ABORT:
ret = COMPACT_PARTIAL;
- putback_lru_pages(&cc->migratepages);
+ putback_movable_pages(&cc->migratepages);
cc->nr_migratepages = 0;
goto out;
case ISOLATE_NONE:
@@ -1026,9 +1026,9 @@ static int compact_zone(struct zone *zone, struct compact_control *cc)
trace_mm_compaction_migratepages(nr_migrate - nr_remaining,
nr_remaining);
- /* Release LRU pages not migrated */
+ /* Release isolated pages not migrated */
if (err) {
- putback_lru_pages(&cc->migratepages);
+ putback_movable_pages(&cc->migratepages);
cc->nr_migratepages = 0;
if (err == -ENOMEM) {
ret = COMPACT_PARTIAL;