aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/compaction.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com>2012-12-11 16:02:38 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-11 17:22:26 -0800
commit18468d93e53b037e1a04ec58398eab763d054064 (patch)
tree74392b876400391567f55bb5292107b65e3791a2 /mm/compaction.c
parent252aa6f5be64c90c67b9f066ccff880f6b487d32 (diff)
downloadlinux-18468d93e53b037e1a04ec58398eab763d054064.tar.gz
mm: introduce a common interface for balloon pages mobility
Memory fragmentation introduced by ballooning might reduce significantly the number of 2MB contiguous memory blocks that can be used within a guest, thus imposing performance penalties associated with the reduced number of transparent huge pages that could be used by the guest workload. This patch introduces a common interface to help a balloon driver on making its page set movable to compaction, and thus allowing the system to better leverage the compation efforts on memory defragmentation. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: use PAGE_FLAGS_CHECK_AT_PREP, s/__balloon_page_flags/page_flags_cleared/, small cleanups] [rientjes@google.com: allow balloon compaction for any system with memory compaction enabled, which is the defconfig] Signed-off-by: Rafael Aquini <aquini@redhat.com> Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/compaction.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions