aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/bootmem.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>2012-11-16 14:15:06 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-11-16 14:33:04 -0800
commit5576646f3c1abd60d72d19829de6f5d8c2ca8ecf (patch)
tree600e8d1df6536bbeb0b15b51f137d37a94f69843 /mm/bootmem.c
parent0f3c42f522dc1ad7e27affc0a4aa8c790bce0a66 (diff)
downloadlinux-5576646f3c1abd60d72d19829de6f5d8c2ca8ecf.tar.gz
revert "mm: fix-up zone present pages"
Revert commit 7f1290f2f2a4 ("mm: fix-up zone present pages") That patch tried to fix a issue when calculating zone->present_pages, but it caused a regression on 32bit systems with HIGHMEM. With that change, reset_zone_present_pages() resets all zone->present_pages to zero, and fixup_zone_present_pages() is called to recalculate zone->present_pages when the boot allocator frees core memory pages into buddy allocator. Because highmem pages are not freed by bootmem allocator, all highmem zones' present_pages becomes zero. Various options for improving the situation are being discussed but for now, let's return to the 3.6 code. Cc: Jianguo Wu <wujianguo@huawei.com> Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com> Cc: Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@suse.cz> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Tested-by: Chris Clayton <chris2553@googlemail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/bootmem.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/bootmem.c10
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/mm/bootmem.c b/mm/bootmem.c
index 434be4ae7a0..f468185b3b2 100644
--- a/mm/bootmem.c
+++ b/mm/bootmem.c
@@ -198,8 +198,6 @@ static unsigned long __init free_all_bootmem_core(bootmem_data_t *bdata)
int order = ilog2(BITS_PER_LONG);
__free_pages_bootmem(pfn_to_page(start), order);
- fixup_zone_present_pages(page_to_nid(pfn_to_page(start)),
- start, start + BITS_PER_LONG);
count += BITS_PER_LONG;
start += BITS_PER_LONG;
} else {
@@ -210,9 +208,6 @@ static unsigned long __init free_all_bootmem_core(bootmem_data_t *bdata)
if (vec & 1) {
page = pfn_to_page(start + off);
__free_pages_bootmem(page, 0);
- fixup_zone_present_pages(
- page_to_nid(page),
- start + off, start + off + 1);
count++;
}
vec >>= 1;
@@ -226,11 +221,8 @@ static unsigned long __init free_all_bootmem_core(bootmem_data_t *bdata)
pages = bdata->node_low_pfn - bdata->node_min_pfn;
pages = bootmem_bootmap_pages(pages);
count += pages;
- while (pages--) {
- fixup_zone_present_pages(page_to_nid(page),
- page_to_pfn(page), page_to_pfn(page) + 1);
+ while (pages--)
__free_pages_bootmem(page++, 0);
- }
bdebug("nid=%td released=%lx\n", bdata - bootmem_node_data, count);