aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>2009-03-30 19:07:44 +0900
committerTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>2009-06-24 15:13:35 +0900
commite74e396204bfcb67570ba4517b08f5918e69afea (patch)
treedf57c859e10f7fcbe5790e9b51a106d5bccfe8dc /mm/Makefile
parent0017c869ddcb73069905d09f9e98e68627466237 (diff)
downloadlinux-e74e396204bfcb67570ba4517b08f5918e69afea.tar.gz
percpu: use dynamic percpu allocator as the default percpu allocator
This patch makes most !CONFIG_HAVE_SETUP_PER_CPU_AREA archs use dynamic percpu allocator. The first chunk is allocated using embedding helper and 8k is reserved for modules. This ensures that the new allocator behaves almost identically to the original allocator as long as static percpu variables are concerned, so it shouldn't introduce much breakage. s390 and alpha use custom SHIFT_PERCPU_PTR() to work around addressing range limit the addressing model imposes. Unfortunately, this breaks if the address is specified using a variable, so for now, the two archs aren't converted. The following architectures are affected by this change. * sh * arm * cris * mips * sparc(32) * blackfin * avr32 * parisc (broken, under investigation) * m32r * powerpc(32) As this change makes the dynamic allocator the default one, CONFIG_HAVE_DYNAMIC_PER_CPU_AREA is replaced with its invert - CONFIG_HAVE_LEGACY_PER_CPU_AREA, which is added to yet-to-be converted archs. These archs implement their own setup_per_cpu_areas() and the conversion is not trivial. * powerpc(64) * sparc(64) * ia64 * alpha * s390 Boot and batch alloc/free tests on x86_32 with debug code (x86_32 doesn't use default first chunk initialization). Compile tested on sparc(32), powerpc(32), arm and alpha. Kyle McMartin reported that this change breaks parisc. The problem is still under investigation and he is okay with pushing this patch forward and fixing parisc later. [ Impact: use dynamic allocator for most archs w/o custom percpu setup ] Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Acked-by: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx> Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/Makefile')
-rw-r--r--mm/Makefile2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/Makefile b/mm/Makefile
index 5e0bd642669..c77c6487552 100644
--- a/mm/Makefile
+++ b/mm/Makefile
@@ -33,7 +33,7 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_FAILSLAB) += failslab.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG) += memory_hotplug.o
obj-$(CONFIG_FS_XIP) += filemap_xip.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MIGRATION) += migrate.o
-ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_DYNAMIC_PER_CPU_AREA
+ifndef CONFIG_HAVE_LEGACY_PER_CPU_AREA
obj-$(CONFIG_SMP) += percpu.o
else
obj-$(CONFIG_SMP) += allocpercpu.o