aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>2014-04-07 15:37:10 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-04-07 16:35:52 -0700
commita0715cc22601e8830ace98366c0c2bd8da52af52 (patch)
tree4444c61a4685d10d683e1f29177a9e7cfbccae73 /kernel
parent1e1836e84f87d12feac6dd225fcef5eba1ca724b (diff)
downloadlinux-a0715cc22601e8830ace98366c0c2bd8da52af52.tar.gz
mm, thp: add VM_INIT_DEF_MASK and PRCTL_THP_DISABLE
Add VM_INIT_DEF_MASK, to allow us to set the default flags for VMs. It also adds a prctl control which allows us to set the THP disable bit in mm->def_flags so that VMs will pick up the setting as they are created. Signed-off-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/fork.c11
-rw-r--r--kernel/sys.c15
2 files changed, 23 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/fork.c b/kernel/fork.c
index abc45890f0a..e40c0a01d5a 100644
--- a/kernel/fork.c
+++ b/kernel/fork.c
@@ -530,8 +530,6 @@ static struct mm_struct *mm_init(struct mm_struct *mm, struct task_struct *p)
atomic_set(&mm->mm_count, 1);
init_rwsem(&mm->mmap_sem);
INIT_LIST_HEAD(&mm->mmlist);
- mm->flags = (current->mm) ?
- (current->mm->flags & MMF_INIT_MASK) : default_dump_filter;
mm->core_state = NULL;
atomic_long_set(&mm->nr_ptes, 0);
memset(&mm->rss_stat, 0, sizeof(mm->rss_stat));
@@ -540,8 +538,15 @@ static struct mm_struct *mm_init(struct mm_struct *mm, struct task_struct *p)
mm_init_owner(mm, p);
clear_tlb_flush_pending(mm);
- if (likely(!mm_alloc_pgd(mm))) {
+ if (current->mm) {
+ mm->flags = current->mm->flags & MMF_INIT_MASK;
+ mm->def_flags = current->mm->def_flags & VM_INIT_DEF_MASK;
+ } else {
+ mm->flags = default_dump_filter;
mm->def_flags = 0;
+ }
+
+ if (likely(!mm_alloc_pgd(mm))) {
mmu_notifier_mm_init(mm);
return mm;
}
diff --git a/kernel/sys.c b/kernel/sys.c
index adaeab6f7a8..fba0f29401e 100644
--- a/kernel/sys.c
+++ b/kernel/sys.c
@@ -1996,6 +1996,21 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE5(prctl, int, option, unsigned long, arg2, unsigned long, arg3,
if (arg2 || arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
return -EINVAL;
return current->no_new_privs ? 1 : 0;
+ case PR_GET_THP_DISABLE:
+ if (arg2 || arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
+ return -EINVAL;
+ error = !!(me->mm->def_flags & VM_NOHUGEPAGE);
+ break;
+ case PR_SET_THP_DISABLE:
+ if (arg3 || arg4 || arg5)
+ return -EINVAL;
+ down_write(&me->mm->mmap_sem);
+ if (arg2)
+ me->mm->def_flags |= VM_NOHUGEPAGE;
+ else
+ me->mm->def_flags &= ~VM_NOHUGEPAGE;
+ up_write(&me->mm->mmap_sem);
+ break;
default:
error = -EINVAL;
break;