aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/exit.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorShailabh Nagar <nagar@watson.ibm.com>2006-07-14 00:24:40 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-07-14 21:53:56 -0700
commitc757249af152c59fd74b85e52e8c090acb33d9c0 (patch)
tree78495f661fe537bf5087b24e6577659de8725b5a /kernel/exit.c
parentfb0ba6bd021248b6bdc58a7b1213a55a6776a38a (diff)
downloadlinux-c757249af152c59fd74b85e52e8c090acb33d9c0.tar.gz
[PATCH] per-task-delay-accounting: taskstats interface
Create a "taskstats" interface based on generic netlink (NETLINK_GENERIC family), for getting statistics of tasks and thread groups during their lifetime and when they exit. The interface is intended for use by multiple accounting packages though it is being created in the context of delay accounting. This patch creates the interface without populating the fields of the data that is sent to the user in response to a command or upon the exit of a task. Each accounting package interested in using taskstats has to provide an additional patch to add its stats to the common structure. [akpm@osdl.org: cleanups, Kconfig fix] Signed-off-by: Shailabh Nagar <nagar@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@in.ibm.com> Cc: Jes Sorensen <jes@sgi.com> Cc: Peter Chubb <peterc@gelato.unsw.edu.au> Cc: Erich Focht <efocht@ess.nec.de> Cc: Levent Serinol <lserinol@gmail.com> Cc: Jay Lan <jlan@engr.sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/exit.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/exit.c7
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 3c2cf91defa..9852ed8c298 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -25,6 +25,7 @@
#include <linux/mount.h>
#include <linux/proc_fs.h>
#include <linux/mempolicy.h>
+#include <linux/taskstats_kern.h>
#include <linux/delayacct.h>
#include <linux/cpuset.h>
#include <linux/syscalls.h>
@@ -844,6 +845,7 @@ static void exit_notify(struct task_struct *tsk)
fastcall NORET_TYPE void do_exit(long code)
{
struct task_struct *tsk = current;
+ struct taskstats *tidstats, *tgidstats;
int group_dead;
profile_task_exit(tsk);
@@ -882,6 +884,8 @@ fastcall NORET_TYPE void do_exit(long code)
current->comm, current->pid,
preempt_count());
+ taskstats_exit_alloc(&tidstats, &tgidstats);
+
acct_update_integrals(tsk);
if (tsk->mm) {
update_hiwater_rss(tsk->mm);
@@ -901,7 +905,10 @@ fastcall NORET_TYPE void do_exit(long code)
#endif
if (unlikely(tsk->audit_context))
audit_free(tsk);
+ taskstats_exit_send(tsk, tidstats, tgidstats);
+ taskstats_exit_free(tidstats, tgidstats);
delayacct_tsk_exit(tsk);
+
exit_mm(tsk);
if (group_dead)