aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>2007-05-06 14:48:54 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-05-07 12:12:51 -0700
commitaee16b3cee2746880e40945a9b5bff4f309cfbc4 (patch)
tree887faaebf5562dc1fac5e090140da04dc7e2a174 /init
parenteb3a1e1145ca8f12372c7c96aa0702d86a9002a9 (diff)
downloadlinux-aee16b3cee2746880e40945a9b5bff4f309cfbc4.tar.gz
Add apply_to_page_range() which applies a function to a pte range
Add a new mm function apply_to_page_range() which applies a given function to every pte in a given virtual address range in a given mm structure. This is a generic alternative to cut-and-pasting the Linux idiomatic pagetable walking code in every place that a sequence of PTEs must be accessed. Although this interface is intended to be useful in a wide range of situations, it is currently used specifically by several Xen subsystems, for example: to ensure that pagetables have been allocated for a virtual address range, and to construct batched special pagetable update requests to map I/O memory (in ioremap()). [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix warning, unpleasantly] Signed-off-by: Ian Pratt <ian.pratt@xensource.com> Signed-off-by: Christian Limpach <Christian.Limpach@cl.cam.ac.uk> Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org> Signed-off-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@xensource.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com> Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@waste.org> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions