aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2013-04-29 16:17:18 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-04-29 18:28:13 -0700
commitd0380e6c3c0f6edb986d8798a23acfaf33d5df23 (patch)
tree454ea23060995d2e1326962cedfd6e86a335629d /include
parent07c65f4d1aa74f7cf1c46d7f96e05cfa3e628ba1 (diff)
downloadlinux-d0380e6c3c0f6edb986d8798a23acfaf33d5df23.tar.gz
early_printk: consolidate random copies of identical code
The early console implementations are the same all over the place. Move the print function to kernel/printk and get rid of the copies. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: arch/mips/kernel/early_printk.c needs kernel.h for va_list] [paul.gortmaker@windriver.com: sh4: make the bios early console support depend on EARLY_PRINTK] Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Tested-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/console.h1
-rw-r--r--include/linux/printk.h6
2 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/console.h b/include/linux/console.h
index 29680a8cda9..73bab0f58af 100644
--- a/include/linux/console.h
+++ b/include/linux/console.h
@@ -141,6 +141,7 @@ struct console {
for (con = console_drivers; con != NULL; con = con->next)
extern int console_set_on_cmdline;
+extern struct console *early_console;
extern int add_preferred_console(char *name, int idx, char *options);
extern int update_console_cmdline(char *name, int idx, char *name_new, int idx_new, char *options);
diff --git a/include/linux/printk.h b/include/linux/printk.h
index 822171fcb1c..1c35c23bccd 100644
--- a/include/linux/printk.h
+++ b/include/linux/printk.h
@@ -95,8 +95,14 @@ int no_printk(const char *fmt, ...)
return 0;
}
+#ifdef CONFIG_EARLY_PRINTK
extern asmlinkage __printf(1, 2)
void early_printk(const char *fmt, ...);
+void early_vprintk(const char *fmt, va_list ap);
+#else
+static inline __printf(1, 2) __cold
+void early_printk(const char *s, ...) { }
+#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_PRINTK
asmlinkage __printf(5, 0)