aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPhilipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>2013-04-29 16:17:10 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-04-29 18:28:13 -0700
commit9375db07adeaeea5f5ea7ca0463a8b371d71ddbb (patch)
tree8825d1985a7bd6acd9e13de4594c574c81dd11fe /include
parent3119b487e03650b51589a86aac33098b7cc2a09e (diff)
downloadlinux-9375db07adeaeea5f5ea7ca0463a8b371d71ddbb.tar.gz
genalloc: add devres support, allow to find a managed pool by device
This patch adds three exported functions to lib/genalloc.c: devm_gen_pool_create, dev_get_gen_pool, and of_get_named_gen_pool. devm_gen_pool_create is a managed version of gen_pool_create that keeps track of the pool via devres and allows the management code to automatically destroy it after device removal. dev_get_gen_pool retrieves the gen_pool for a given device, if it was created with devm_gen_pool_create, using devres_find. of_get_named_gen_pool retrieves the gen_pool for a given device node and property name, where the property must contain a phandle pointing to a platform device node. The corresponding platform device is then fed into dev_get_gen_pool and the resulting gen_pool is returned. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: make the of_get_named_gen_pool() stub static, fixing a zillion link errors] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: squish "struct device declared inside parameter list" warning] Signed-off-by: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de> Acked-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca> Tested-by: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@freescale.com> Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@ti.com> Cc: Dong Aisheng <dong.aisheng@linaro.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Javier Martin <javier.martin@vista-silicon.com> Cc: Huang Shijie <shijie8@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/genalloc.h18
1 files changed, 18 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/genalloc.h b/include/linux/genalloc.h
index dd7c569aaca..661d374aeb2 100644
--- a/include/linux/genalloc.h
+++ b/include/linux/genalloc.h
@@ -29,6 +29,10 @@
#ifndef __GENALLOC_H__
#define __GENALLOC_H__
+
+struct device;
+struct device_node;
+
/**
* Allocation callback function type definition
* @map: Pointer to bitmap
@@ -105,4 +109,18 @@ extern unsigned long gen_pool_first_fit(unsigned long *map, unsigned long size,
extern unsigned long gen_pool_best_fit(unsigned long *map, unsigned long size,
unsigned long start, unsigned int nr, void *data);
+extern struct gen_pool *devm_gen_pool_create(struct device *dev,
+ int min_alloc_order, int nid);
+extern struct gen_pool *dev_get_gen_pool(struct device *dev);
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_OF
+extern struct gen_pool *of_get_named_gen_pool(struct device_node *np,
+ const char *propname, int index);
+#else
+static inline struct gen_pool *of_get_named_gen_pool(struct device_node *np,
+ const char *propname, int index)
+{
+ return NULL;
+}
+#endif
#endif /* __GENALLOC_H__ */