aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/fs
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2009-06-17 16:28:05 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-06-18 13:03:57 -0700
commit0b923606e75f1ab672e25b14ac039a1cdcfa382f (patch)
tree7661aaea6d8809b002cd03f910122f87eb35608a /fs
parentb99b87f70c7785ab1e253c6220f4b0b57ce3a7f7 (diff)
downloadlinux-0b923606e75f1ab672e25b14ac039a1cdcfa382f.tar.gz
seq_file: add function to write binary data
seq_write() can be used to construct seq_files containing arbitrary data. Required by the gcov-profiling interface to synthesize binary profiling data files. Signed-off-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM> Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs')
-rw-r--r--fs/seq_file.c20
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/fs/seq_file.c b/fs/seq_file.c
index 7f40f30c55c..6c959275f2d 100644
--- a/fs/seq_file.c
+++ b/fs/seq_file.c
@@ -640,6 +640,26 @@ int seq_puts(struct seq_file *m, const char *s)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_puts);
+/**
+ * seq_write - write arbitrary data to buffer
+ * @seq: seq_file identifying the buffer to which data should be written
+ * @data: data address
+ * @len: number of bytes
+ *
+ * Return 0 on success, non-zero otherwise.
+ */
+int seq_write(struct seq_file *seq, const void *data, size_t len)
+{
+ if (seq->count + len < seq->size) {
+ memcpy(seq->buf + seq->count, data, len);
+ seq->count += len;
+ return 0;
+ }
+ seq->count = seq->size;
+ return -1;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(seq_write);
+
struct list_head *seq_list_start(struct list_head *head, loff_t pos)
{
struct list_head *lh;