aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/misc/sram.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPhilipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>2013-04-29 16:17:12 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-04-29 18:28:13 -0700
commit4984c6f5e56c3e68922fd979347ba7aff385783b (patch)
tree7931e0e6dbb71d837a24638cebc62a5dbb38798b /drivers/misc/sram.c
parent9375db07adeaeea5f5ea7ca0463a8b371d71ddbb (diff)
downloadlinux-4984c6f5e56c3e68922fd979347ba7aff385783b.tar.gz
misc: generic on-chip SRAM allocation driver
This driver requests and remaps a memory region as configured in the device tree. It serves memory from this region via the genalloc API. It optionally enables the SRAM clock. Other drivers can retrieve the genalloc pool from a phandle pointing to this drivers' device node in the device tree. The allocation granularity is hard-coded to 32 bytes for now, to make the SRAM driver useful for the 6502 remoteproc driver. There is overhead for bigger SRAMs, where only a much coarser allocation granularity is needed: At 32 bytes minimum allocation size, a 256 KiB SRAM needs a 1 KiB bitmap to track allocations. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix Kconfig text, make sram_init static] Signed-off-by: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de> Reviewed-by: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org> Acked-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca> Tested-by: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Dong Aisheng <dong.aisheng@linaro.org> Cc: Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@freescale.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Huang Shijie <shijie8@gmail.com> Cc: Javier Martin <javier.martin@vista-silicon.com> Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@ti.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/misc/sram.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/misc/sram.c121
1 files changed, 121 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/misc/sram.c b/drivers/misc/sram.c
new file mode 100644
index 00000000000..437192e4300
--- /dev/null
+++ b/drivers/misc/sram.c
@@ -0,0 +1,121 @@
+/*
+ * Generic on-chip SRAM allocation driver
+ *
+ * Copyright (C) 2012 Philipp Zabel, Pengutronix
+ *
+ * This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
+ * modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License
+ * as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2
+ * of the License, or (at your option) any later version.
+ * This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
+ * but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
+ * MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
+ * GNU General Public License for more details.
+ *
+ * You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
+ * along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
+ * Foundation, Inc., 51 Franklin Street, Fifth Floor, Boston,
+ * MA 02110-1301, USA.
+ */
+
+#include <linux/kernel.h>
+#include <linux/init.h>
+#include <linux/clk.h>
+#include <linux/err.h>
+#include <linux/io.h>
+#include <linux/of.h>
+#include <linux/platform_device.h>
+#include <linux/slab.h>
+#include <linux/spinlock.h>
+#include <linux/genalloc.h>
+
+#define SRAM_GRANULARITY 32
+
+struct sram_dev {
+ struct gen_pool *pool;
+ struct clk *clk;
+};
+
+static int sram_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+{
+ void __iomem *virt_base;
+ struct sram_dev *sram;
+ struct resource *res;
+ unsigned long size;
+ int ret;
+
+ res = platform_get_resource(pdev, IORESOURCE_MEM, 0);
+ if (!res)
+ return -EINVAL;
+
+ size = resource_size(res);
+
+ virt_base = devm_request_and_ioremap(&pdev->dev, res);
+ if (!virt_base)
+ return -EADDRNOTAVAIL;
+
+ sram = devm_kzalloc(&pdev->dev, sizeof(*sram), GFP_KERNEL);
+ if (!sram)
+ return -ENOMEM;
+
+ sram->clk = devm_clk_get(&pdev->dev, NULL);
+ if (IS_ERR(sram->clk))
+ sram->clk = NULL;
+ else
+ clk_prepare_enable(sram->clk);
+
+ sram->pool = devm_gen_pool_create(&pdev->dev, ilog2(SRAM_GRANULARITY), -1);
+ if (!sram->pool)
+ return -ENOMEM;
+
+ ret = gen_pool_add_virt(sram->pool, (unsigned long)virt_base,
+ res->start, size, -1);
+ if (ret < 0) {
+ gen_pool_destroy(sram->pool);
+ return ret;
+ }
+
+ platform_set_drvdata(pdev, sram);
+
+ dev_dbg(&pdev->dev, "SRAM pool: %ld KiB @ 0x%p\n", size / 1024, virt_base);
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int sram_remove(struct platform_device *pdev)
+{
+ struct sram_dev *sram = platform_get_drvdata(pdev);
+
+ if (gen_pool_avail(sram->pool) < gen_pool_size(sram->pool))
+ dev_dbg(&pdev->dev, "removed while SRAM allocated\n");
+
+ gen_pool_destroy(sram->pool);
+
+ if (sram->clk)
+ clk_disable_unprepare(sram->clk);
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_OF
+static struct of_device_id sram_dt_ids[] = {
+ { .compatible = "mmio-sram" },
+ {}
+};
+#endif
+
+static struct platform_driver sram_driver = {
+ .driver = {
+ .name = "sram",
+ .of_match_table = of_match_ptr(sram_dt_ids),
+ },
+ .probe = sram_probe,
+ .remove = sram_remove,
+};
+
+static int __init sram_init(void)
+{
+ return platform_driver_register(&sram_driver);
+}
+
+postcore_initcall(sram_init);