aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/drivers/char/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMarco Stornelli <marco.stornelli@gmail.com>2010-05-26 14:43:54 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-05-27 09:12:50 -0700
commit56d611a04fb2db77334e06274de4daed92e2c626 (patch)
tree49ee40b22419ba36ffc6d94d9b66649b6d42ea52 /drivers/char/Kconfig
parenta747c5abc329611220f16df0bb4cf0ca4a7fdf0c (diff)
downloadlinux-56d611a04fb2db77334e06274de4daed92e2c626.tar.gz
char drivers: RAM oops/panic logger
Ramoops, like mtdoops, can log oops/panic information but in RAM. It can be used with persistent RAM for systems without flash support. In addition, for this systems, with this driver, it's no more needed add to the kernel the mtd subsystem with advantage in footprint. It can be used in a very easy way with persistent RAM for systems without flash support. For these systems, with this driver, it is no longer required to cinlude mtd subsystem with an advantage in footprint. In addition, you can save flash space and store this information only in RAM. Signed-off-by: Marco Stornelli <marco.stornelli@gmail.com> Cc: Simon Kagstrom <simon.kagstrom@netinsight.net> Cc: David Woodhouse <David.Woodhouse@intel.com> Cc; Anders Grafstrom <anders.grafstrom@netinsight.net> Cc: Yuasa Yoichi <yuasa@linux-mips.org> Cc: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/char/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--drivers/char/Kconfig7
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/char/Kconfig b/drivers/char/Kconfig
index e21175be25d..f09fc0e2062 100644
--- a/drivers/char/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/char/Kconfig
@@ -1121,5 +1121,12 @@ config DEVPORT
source "drivers/s390/char/Kconfig"
+config RAMOOPS
+ tristate "Log panic/oops to a RAM buffer"
+ default n
+ help
+ This enables panic and oops messages to be logged to a circular
+ buffer in RAM where it can be read back at some later point.
+
endmenu