aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/xtensa/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>2012-03-23 15:02:51 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-03-23 16:58:42 -0700
commitaccb61fe7bb0f5c2a4102239e4981650f9048519 (patch)
tree5e7120b80944d9719684b94e0c419761ba2d59e1 /arch/xtensa/include
parent909af768e88867016f427264ae39d27a57b6a8ed (diff)
downloadlinux-accb61fe7bb0f5c2a4102239e4981650f9048519.tar.gz
coredump: add VM_NODUMP, MADV_NODUMP, MADV_CLEAR_NODUMP
Since we no longer need the VM_ALWAYSDUMP flag, let's use the freed bit for 'VM_NODUMP' flag. The idea is is to add a new madvise() flag: MADV_DONTDUMP, which can be set by applications to specifically request memory regions which should not dump core. The specific application I have in mind is qemu: we can add a flag there that wouldn't dump all of guest memory when qemu dumps core. This flag might also be useful for security sensitive apps that want to absolutely make sure that parts of memory are not dumped. To clear the flag use: MADV_DODUMP. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/MADV_NODUMP/MADV_DONTDUMP/, s/MADV_CLEAR_NODUMP/MADV_DODUMP/, per Roland] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up the architectures which broke] Signed-off-by: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com> Acked-by: Roland McGrath <roland@hack.frob.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/xtensa/include')
-rw-r--r--arch/xtensa/include/asm/mman.h4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/xtensa/include/asm/mman.h b/arch/xtensa/include/asm/mman.h
index 30789010733..25bc6c1309c 100644
--- a/arch/xtensa/include/asm/mman.h
+++ b/arch/xtensa/include/asm/mman.h
@@ -86,6 +86,10 @@
#define MADV_HUGEPAGE 14 /* Worth backing with hugepages */
#define MADV_NOHUGEPAGE 15 /* Not worth backing with hugepages */
+#define MADV_DONTDUMP 16 /* Explicity exclude from the core dump,
+ overrides the coredump filter bits */
+#define MADV_DODUMP 17 /* Clear the MADV_NODUMP flag */
+
/* compatibility flags */
#define MAP_FILE 0