aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/um
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2013-04-29 16:17:18 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-04-29 18:28:13 -0700
commitd0380e6c3c0f6edb986d8798a23acfaf33d5df23 (patch)
tree454ea23060995d2e1326962cedfd6e86a335629d /arch/um
parent07c65f4d1aa74f7cf1c46d7f96e05cfa3e628ba1 (diff)
downloadlinux-d0380e6c3c0f6edb986d8798a23acfaf33d5df23.tar.gz
early_printk: consolidate random copies of identical code
The early console implementations are the same all over the place. Move the print function to kernel/printk and get rid of the copies. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: arch/mips/kernel/early_printk.c needs kernel.h for va_list] [paul.gortmaker@windriver.com: sh4: make the bios early console support depend on EARLY_PRINTK] Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Tested-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/um')
-rw-r--r--arch/um/kernel/early_printk.c8
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/um/kernel/early_printk.c b/arch/um/kernel/early_printk.c
index 49480f09245..4a0800bc37b 100644
--- a/arch/um/kernel/early_printk.c
+++ b/arch/um/kernel/early_printk.c
@@ -16,7 +16,7 @@ static void early_console_write(struct console *con, const char *s, unsigned int
um_early_printk(s, n);
}
-static struct console early_console = {
+static struct console early_console_dev = {
.name = "earlycon",
.write = early_console_write,
.flags = CON_BOOT,
@@ -25,8 +25,10 @@ static struct console early_console = {
static int __init setup_early_printk(char *buf)
{
- register_console(&early_console);
-
+ if (!early_console) {
+ early_console = &early_console_dev;
+ register_console(&early_console_dev);
+ }
return 0;
}