aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/sh
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>2014-08-08 14:23:40 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-08-08 15:57:27 -0700
commita6c19dfe39941a5d3f4d072121c0a4841e7e26fd (patch)
tree2324b68fd333c9b3ccaaa5fbccad1ab42ce59ee1 /arch/sh
parente0d9bf4cc0888befd00b1a7db383681be68aada9 (diff)
downloadlinux-a6c19dfe39941a5d3f4d072121c0a4841e7e26fd.tar.gz
arm64,ia64,ppc,s390,sh,tile,um,x86,mm: remove default gate area
The core mm code will provide a default gate area based on FIXADDR_USER_START and FIXADDR_USER_END if !defined(__HAVE_ARCH_GATE_AREA) && defined(AT_SYSINFO_EHDR). This default is only useful for ia64. arm64, ppc, s390, sh, tile, 64-bit UML, and x86_32 have their own code just to disable it. arm, 32-bit UML, and x86_64 have gate areas, but they have their own implementations. This gets rid of the default and moves the code into ia64. This should save some code on architectures without a gate area: it's now possible to inline the gate_area functions in the default case. Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Acked-by: Nathan Lynch <nathan_lynch@mentor.com> Acked-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> [in principle] Acked-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> [for um] Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> [for arm64] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Nathan Lynch <Nathan_Lynch@mentor.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/sh')
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/include/asm/page.h5
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/kernel/vsyscall/vsyscall.c15
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 20 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sh/include/asm/page.h b/arch/sh/include/asm/page.h
index 15d970328f7..fe20d14ae05 100644
--- a/arch/sh/include/asm/page.h
+++ b/arch/sh/include/asm/page.h
@@ -186,11 +186,6 @@ typedef struct page *pgtable_t;
#include <asm-generic/memory_model.h>
#include <asm-generic/getorder.h>
-/* vDSO support */
-#ifdef CONFIG_VSYSCALL
-#define __HAVE_ARCH_GATE_AREA
-#endif
-
/*
* Some drivers need to perform DMA into kmalloc'ed buffers
* and so we have to increase the kmalloc minalign for this.
diff --git a/arch/sh/kernel/vsyscall/vsyscall.c b/arch/sh/kernel/vsyscall/vsyscall.c
index 5ca579720a0..ea2aa1393b8 100644
--- a/arch/sh/kernel/vsyscall/vsyscall.c
+++ b/arch/sh/kernel/vsyscall/vsyscall.c
@@ -92,18 +92,3 @@ const char *arch_vma_name(struct vm_area_struct *vma)
return NULL;
}
-
-struct vm_area_struct *get_gate_vma(struct mm_struct *mm)
-{
- return NULL;
-}
-
-int in_gate_area(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long address)
-{
- return 0;
-}
-
-int in_gate_area_no_mm(unsigned long address)
-{
- return 0;
-}