aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>2011-05-19 21:34:58 -0400
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2011-05-20 08:56:56 +0200
commita2d063ac216c1618bfc2b4d40b7176adffa63511 (patch)
tree499d4cc67e296cb8b51f51215a49407c440c4690 /arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds
parentc16dbd54a3fe126b539a0ef149d80221c667bbd5 (diff)
downloadlinux-a2d063ac216c1618bfc2b4d40b7176adffa63511.tar.gz
extable, core_kernel_data(): Make sure all archs define _sdata
A new utility function (core_kernel_data()) is used to determine if a passed in address is part of core kernel data or not. It may or may not return true for RO data, but this utility must work for RW data. Thus both _sdata and _edata must be defined and continuous, without .init sections that may later be freed and replaced by volatile memory (memory that can be freed). This utility function is used to determine if data is safe from ever being freed. Thus it should return true for all RW global data that is not in a module or has been allocated, or false otherwise. Also change core_kernel_data() back to the more precise _sdata condition and document the function. Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Acked-by: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: JamesE.J.Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1305855298.1465.19.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> ---- arch/alpha/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 1 + arch/m32r/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 1 + arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds | 2 ++ arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-sun3.lds | 1 + arch/mips/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 1 + arch/parisc/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 3 +++ kernel/extable.c | 12 +++++++++++- 7 files changed, 20 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds')
-rw-r--r--arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds b/arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds
index 878be5f38ca..d0993594f55 100644
--- a/arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds
+++ b/arch/m68k/kernel/vmlinux-std.lds
@@ -25,6 +25,8 @@ SECTIONS
EXCEPTION_TABLE(16)
+ _sdata = .; /* Start of data section */
+
RODATA
RW_DATA_SECTION(16, PAGE_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE)