aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/frv/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWill Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com>2007-10-16 01:24:18 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-10-16 09:42:52 -0700
commitdcca2bde4f86a14d3291660bede8f1844fe2b3df (patch)
tree6beef48bb4eb715e091c7db87953328314471886 /arch/frv/mm
parent1cd7daa51baf0934882bf24a7ae378ec75df665e (diff)
downloadlinux-dcca2bde4f86a14d3291660bede8f1844fe2b3df.tar.gz
During VM oom condition, kill all threads in process group
We have had complaints where a threaded application is left in a bad state after one of it's threads is killed when we hit a VM: out_of_memory condition. Killing just one of the process threads can leave the application in a bad state, whereas killing the entire process group would allow for the application to restart, or be otherwise handled, and makes it very obvious that something has gone wrong. This change allows the entire process group to be taken down, rather than just the one thread. Signed-off-by: Will Schmidt <will_schmidt@vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/frv/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/frv/mm/fault.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/frv/mm/fault.c b/arch/frv/mm/fault.c
index 6798fa0257b..05093d41d98 100644
--- a/arch/frv/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/frv/mm/fault.c
@@ -259,7 +259,7 @@ asmlinkage void do_page_fault(int datammu, unsigned long esr0, unsigned long ear
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
printk("VM: killing process %s\n", current->comm);
if (user_mode(__frame))
- do_exit(SIGKILL);
+ do_group_exit(SIGKILL);
goto no_context;
do_sigbus: