aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>2015-01-04 10:36:19 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-01-09 11:12:28 +0100
commit88a7c26af8dab2f2d69f5a6067eb670694ec38c0 (patch)
treee8a9d6c7512f7644a2a5a583b16f6fe4b29b16af /arch/arm
parent0f363b250b15af0f218bb2876d101fe5cd413f8b (diff)
downloadlinux-88a7c26af8dab2f2d69f5a6067eb670694ec38c0.tar.gz
perf: Move task_pt_regs sampling into arch code
On x86_64, at least, task_pt_regs may be only partially initialized in many contexts, so x86_64 should not use it without extra care from interrupt context, let alone NMI context. This will allow x86_64 to override the logic and will supply some scratch space to use to make a cleaner copy of user regs. Tested-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: chenggang.qcg@taobao.com Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Jean Pihet <jean.pihet@linaro.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/e431cd4c18c2e1c44c774f10758527fb2d1025c4.1420396372.git.luto@amacapital.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm/kernel/perf_regs.c8
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/perf_regs.c b/arch/arm/kernel/perf_regs.c
index 6e4379c67cb..592dda3f21f 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/perf_regs.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/perf_regs.c
@@ -28,3 +28,11 @@ u64 perf_reg_abi(struct task_struct *task)
{
return PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_ABI_32;
}
+
+void perf_get_regs_user(struct perf_regs *regs_user,
+ struct pt_regs *regs,
+ struct pt_regs *regs_user_copy)
+{
+ regs_user->regs = task_pt_regs(current);
+ regs_user->abi = perf_reg_abi(current);
+}