aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-07-11 20:26:30 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-09-26 15:44:04 +0200
commit2b1d5024e17be459aa6385763ca3faa8f01c52d9 (patch)
tree45d1ea5872eea69b7f0443086d98ddbcbc221b94 /arch/Kconfig
parent9a0c6fef423528ba5b62aa31b29aabf689eb8f70 (diff)
downloadlinux-2b1d5024e17be459aa6385763ca3faa8f01c52d9.tar.gz
rcu: Settle config for userspace extended quiescent state
Create a new config option under the RCU menu that put CPUs under RCU extended quiescent state (as in dynticks idle mode) when they run in userspace. This require some contribution from architectures to hook into kernel and userspace boundaries. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com> Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--arch/Kconfig10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
index 72f2fa189cc..1401a758797 100644
--- a/arch/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/Kconfig
@@ -281,4 +281,14 @@ config SECCOMP_FILTER
See Documentation/prctl/seccomp_filter.txt for details.
+config HAVE_RCU_USER_QS
+ bool
+ help
+ Provide kernel entry/exit hooks necessary for userspace
+ RCU extended quiescent state. Syscalls need to be wrapped inside
+ rcu_user_exit()-rcu_user_enter() through the slow path using
+ TIF_NOHZ flag. Exceptions handlers must be wrapped as well. Irqs
+ are already protected inside rcu_irq_enter/rcu_irq_exit() but
+ preemption or signal handling on irq exit still need to be protected.
+
source "kernel/gcov/Kconfig"