aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>2013-12-19 11:35:58 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2013-12-20 09:38:40 +0100
commit19952a92037e752f9d3bbbad552d596f9a56e146 (patch)
tree8a1930b4775cb17865c03faf55eafdd7b97be8ba /arch/Kconfig
parentb0031f227e47919797dc0e1c1990f3ef151ff0cc (diff)
downloadlinux-19952a92037e752f9d3bbbad552d596f9a56e146.tar.gz
stackprotector: Unify the HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR logic between architectures
Instead of duplicating the CC_STACKPROTECTOR Kconfig and Makefile logic in each architecture, switch to using HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR and keep everything in one place. This retains the x86-specific bug verification scripts. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1387481759-14535-2-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/Kconfig')
-rw-r--r--arch/Kconfig22
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/Kconfig b/arch/Kconfig
index f1cf895c040..24e026d8307 100644
--- a/arch/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/Kconfig
@@ -336,6 +336,28 @@ config SECCOMP_FILTER
See Documentation/prctl/seccomp_filter.txt for details.
+config HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR
+ bool
+ help
+ An arch should select this symbol if:
+ - its compiler supports the -fstack-protector option
+ - it has implemented a stack canary (e.g. __stack_chk_guard)
+
+config CC_STACKPROTECTOR
+ bool "Enable -fstack-protector buffer overflow detection"
+ depends on HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR
+ help
+ This option turns on the -fstack-protector GCC feature. This
+ feature puts, at the beginning of functions, a canary value on
+ the stack just before the return address, and validates
+ the value just before actually returning. Stack based buffer
+ overflows (that need to overwrite this return address) now also
+ overwrite the canary, which gets detected and the attack is then
+ neutralized via a kernel panic.
+
+ This feature requires gcc version 4.2 or above, or a distribution
+ gcc with the feature backported.
+
config HAVE_CONTEXT_TRACKING
bool
help