aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>2013-12-19 11:35:58 -0800
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2013-12-20 09:38:40 +0100
commit19952a92037e752f9d3bbbad552d596f9a56e146 (patch)
tree8a1930b4775cb17865c03faf55eafdd7b97be8ba /Makefile
parentb0031f227e47919797dc0e1c1990f3ef151ff0cc (diff)
downloadlinux-19952a92037e752f9d3bbbad552d596f9a56e146.tar.gz
stackprotector: Unify the HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR logic between architectures
Instead of duplicating the CC_STACKPROTECTOR Kconfig and Makefile logic in each architecture, switch to using HAVE_CC_STACKPROTECTOR and keep everything in one place. This retains the x86-specific bug verification scripts. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1387481759-14535-2-git-send-email-keescook@chromium.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Makefile')
-rw-r--r--Makefile14
1 files changed, 11 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Makefile b/Makefile
index 858a147fd83..84fb5cd092d 100644
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -595,10 +595,18 @@ ifneq ($(CONFIG_FRAME_WARN),0)
KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option,-Wframe-larger-than=${CONFIG_FRAME_WARN})
endif
-# Force gcc to behave correct even for buggy distributions
-ifndef CONFIG_CC_STACKPROTECTOR
-KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -fno-stack-protector)
+# Handle stack protector mode.
+ifdef CONFIG_CC_STACKPROTECTOR
+ stackp-flag := -fstack-protector
+ ifeq ($(call cc-option, $(stackp-flag)),)
+ $(warning Cannot use CONFIG_CC_STACKPROTECTOR: \
+ -fstack-protector not supported by compiler))
+ endif
+else
+ # Force off for distro compilers that enable stack protector by default.
+ stackp-flag := $(call cc-option, -fno-stack-protector)
endif
+KBUILD_CFLAGS += $(stackp-flag)
# This warning generated too much noise in a regular build.
# Use make W=1 to enable this warning (see scripts/Makefile.build)