aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>2014-04-03 14:47:49 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-04-03 16:21:01 -0700
commit91b0abe36a7b2b3b02d7500925a5f8455334f0e5 (patch)
treee3d2cb9400fbfb24500a082721c1123b7a3942c0 /Documentation
parent0cd6144aadd2afd19d1aca880153530c52957604 (diff)
downloadlinux-91b0abe36a7b2b3b02d7500925a5f8455334f0e5.tar.gz
mm + fs: store shadow entries in page cache
Reclaim will be leaving shadow entries in the page cache radix tree upon evicting the real page. As those pages are found from the LRU, an iput() can lead to the inode being freed concurrently. At this point, reclaim must no longer install shadow pages because the inode freeing code needs to ensure the page tree is really empty. Add an address_space flag, AS_EXITING, that the inode freeing code sets under the tree lock before doing the final truncate. Reclaim will check for this flag before installing shadow pages. Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Bob Liu <bob.liu@oracle.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Metin Doslu <metin@citusdata.com> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: Ozgun Erdogan <ozgun@citusdata.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Roman Gushchin <klamm@yandex-team.ru> Cc: Ryan Mallon <rmallon@gmail.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/porting6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/porting b/Documentation/filesystems/porting
index fe2b7ae6f96..0f3a1390bf0 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/porting
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/porting
@@ -295,9 +295,9 @@ in the beginning of ->setattr unconditionally.
->clear_inode() and ->delete_inode() are gone; ->evict_inode() should
be used instead. It gets called whenever the inode is evicted, whether it has
remaining links or not. Caller does *not* evict the pagecache or inode-associated
-metadata buffers; getting rid of those is responsibility of method, as it had
-been for ->delete_inode(). Caller makes sure async writeback cannot be running
-for the inode while (or after) ->evict_inode() is called.
+metadata buffers; the method has to use truncate_inode_pages_final() to get rid
+of those. Caller makes sure async writeback cannot be running for the inode while
+(or after) ->evict_inode() is called.
->drop_inode() returns int now; it's called on final iput() with
inode->i_lock held and it returns true if filesystems wants the inode to be