aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/trace
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSrikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2012-05-08 16:41:26 +0530
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2012-05-08 14:17:25 +0200
commitec83db0f78cd44c3b586ec1c3a348d1a8a389797 (patch)
tree37d9a919b440b5e9d49ead8d2e180a8ea36ce417 /Documentation/trace
parentf3f096cfedf8113380c56fc855275cc75cd8cf55 (diff)
downloadlinux-ec83db0f78cd44c3b586ec1c3a348d1a8a389797.tar.gz
tracing: Fix kconfig warning due to a typo
Commit f3f096cfe ("tracing: Provide trace events interface for uprobes") throws a warning about unmet dependencies. The exact warning message is: warning: (UPROBE_EVENT) selects UPROBES which has unmet direct dependencies (UPROBE_EVENTS && PERF_EVENTS) This is due to a typo in arch/Kconfig file. Fix similar typos in the uprobetracer documentation. Also add sample format of a uprobe event in the uprobetracer documentation as suggested by Masami Hiramatsu. Reported-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org> Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@infradead.org> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: Anton Arapov <anton@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20120508111126.21004.38285.sendpatchset@srdronam.in.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/trace')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/trace/uprobetracer.txt22
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/trace/uprobetracer.txt b/Documentation/trace/uprobetracer.txt
index eae40a003ee..24ce6823a09 100644
--- a/Documentation/trace/uprobetracer.txt
+++ b/Documentation/trace/uprobetracer.txt
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
Overview
--------
Uprobe based trace events are similar to kprobe based trace events.
-To enable this feature, build your kernel with CONFIG_UPROBE_EVENTS=y.
+To enable this feature, build your kernel with CONFIG_UPROBE_EVENT=y.
Similar to the kprobe-event tracer, this doesn't need to be activated via
current_tracer. Instead of that, add probe points via
@@ -68,7 +68,25 @@ in the object. We can see the events that are registered by looking at the
uprobe_events file.
# cat uprobe_events
- p:uprobes/p_zsh_0x46420 /bin/zsh:0x0000000000046420
+ p:uprobes/p_zsh_0x46420 /bin/zsh:0x00046420 arg1=%ip arg2=%ax
+
+The format of events can be seen by viewing the file events/uprobes/p_zsh_0x46420/format
+
+ # cat events/uprobes/p_zsh_0x46420/format
+ name: p_zsh_0x46420
+ ID: 922
+ format:
+ field:unsigned short common_type; offset:0; size:2; signed:0;
+ field:unsigned char common_flags; offset:2; size:1; signed:0;
+ field:unsigned char common_preempt_count; offset:3; size:1; signed:0;
+ field:int common_pid; offset:4; size:4; signed:1;
+ field:int common_padding; offset:8; size:4; signed:1;
+
+ field:unsigned long __probe_ip; offset:12; size:4; signed:0;
+ field:u32 arg1; offset:16; size:4; signed:0;
+ field:u32 arg2; offset:20; size:4; signed:0;
+
+ print fmt: "(%lx) arg1=%lx arg2=%lx", REC->__probe_ip, REC->arg1, REC->arg2
Right after definition, each event is disabled by default. For tracing these
events, you need to enable it by: