aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlex Chiang <achiang@hp.com>2009-12-14 17:59:05 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-12-15 08:53:17 -0800
commitdee5d0d518defd0337a41f1a504428c9acc87be5 (patch)
treedeb540b5ccc58f0e83114509e17dacb281fc12e5 /Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt
parentd99be1a8ecf377c2c9b3372d36411ad6547bbd4c (diff)
downloadlinux-dee5d0d518defd0337a41f1a504428c9acc87be5.tar.gz
mm: add numa node symlink for memory section in sysfs
Commit c04fc586c (mm: show node to memory section relationship with symlinks in sysfs) created symlinks from nodes to memory sections, e.g. /sys/devices/system/node/node1/memory135 -> ../../memory/memory135 If you're examining the memory section though and are wondering what node it might belong to, you can find it by grovelling around in sysfs, but it's a little cumbersome. Add a reverse symlink for each memory section that points back to the node to which it belongs. Signed-off-by: Alex Chiang <achiang@hp.com> Cc: Gary Hade <garyhade@us.ibm.com> Cc: Badari Pulavarty <pbadari@us.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt11
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt b/Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt
index bbc8a6a3692..57e7e9cc187 100644
--- a/Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt
+++ b/Documentation/memory-hotplug.txt
@@ -160,12 +160,15 @@ Under each section, you can see 4 files.
NOTE:
These directories/files appear after physical memory hotplug phase.
-If CONFIG_NUMA is enabled the
-/sys/devices/system/memory/memoryXXX memory section
-directories can also be accessed via symbolic links located in
-the /sys/devices/system/node/node* directories. For example:
+If CONFIG_NUMA is enabled the memoryXXX/ directories can also be accessed
+via symbolic links located in the /sys/devices/system/node/node* directories.
+
+For example:
/sys/devices/system/node/node0/memory9 -> ../../memory/memory9
+A backlink will also be created:
+/sys/devices/system/memory/memory9/node0 -> ../../node/node0
+
--------------------------------
4. Physical memory hot-add phase
--------------------------------