aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/cgroups
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>2012-12-18 14:23:08 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-18 15:02:15 -0800
commit92e793495597af4135d94314113bf13eafb0e663 (patch)
tree7647becc58b64c524de60f3262188239ed808416 /Documentation/cgroups
parent107dab5c92d5f9c3afe962036e47c207363255c7 (diff)
downloadlinux-92e793495597af4135d94314113bf13eafb0e663.tar.gz
kmem: add slab-specific documentation about the kmem controller
Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: JoonSoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@google.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/cgroups')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt7
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt b/Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt
index 5b5b6314377..8b8c28b9864 100644
--- a/Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt
+++ b/Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt
@@ -301,6 +301,13 @@ to trigger slab reclaim when those limits are reached.
kernel memory, we prevent new processes from being created when the kernel
memory usage is too high.
+* slab pages: pages allocated by the SLAB or SLUB allocator are tracked. A copy
+of each kmem_cache is created everytime the cache is touched by the first time
+from inside the memcg. The creation is done lazily, so some objects can still be
+skipped while the cache is being created. All objects in a slab page should
+belong to the same memcg. This only fails to hold when a task is migrated to a
+different memcg during the page allocation by the cache.
+
* sockets memory pressure: some sockets protocols have memory pressure
thresholds. The Memory Controller allows them to be controlled individually
per cgroup, instead of globally.