aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/cgroups
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com>2012-12-18 14:22:04 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-12-18 15:02:12 -0800
commit50bdd430c20566b13d8bc59946184b08f5875de6 (patch)
tree15ccc558002367c3d2c6b092ccc1d49e6d14acf1 /Documentation/cgroups
parent6a1a0d3b625a4091e7a0eb249aefc6a644385149 (diff)
downloadlinux-50bdd430c20566b13d8bc59946184b08f5875de6.tar.gz
res_counter: return amount of charges after res_counter_uncharge()
It is useful to know how many charges are still left after a call to res_counter_uncharge. While it is possible to issue a res_counter_read after uncharge, this can be racy. If we need, for instance, to take some action when the counters drop down to 0, only one of the callers should see it. This is the same semantics as the atomic variables in the kernel. Since the current return value is void, we don't need to worry about anything breaking due to this change: nobody relied on that, and only users appearing from now on will be checking this value. Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@parallels.com> Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Acked-by: Kamezawa Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Suleiman Souhlal <suleiman@google.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: JoonSoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/cgroups')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt7
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt b/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
index 0c4a344e78f..c4d99ed0b41 100644
--- a/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
+++ b/Documentation/cgroups/resource_counter.txt
@@ -83,16 +83,17 @@ to work with it.
res_counter->lock internally (it must be called with res_counter->lock
held). The force parameter indicates whether we can bypass the limit.
- e. void res_counter_uncharge[_locked]
+ e. u64 res_counter_uncharge[_locked]
(struct res_counter *rc, unsigned long val)
When a resource is released (freed) it should be de-accounted
from the resource counter it was accounted to. This is called
- "uncharging".
+ "uncharging". The return value of this function indicate the amount
+ of charges still present in the counter.
The _locked routines imply that the res_counter->lock is taken.
- f. void res_counter_uncharge_until
+ f. u64 res_counter_uncharge_until
(struct res_counter *rc, struct res_counter *top,
unsinged long val)